Eurocup Mégane Trophy

Nürburgring - Presentation

With three wins apiece, Michaël Rossi (TDS) and Maxime Martin (Boutsen Energy Racing) have shared the spoils since the start of this season's Eurocup Mégane Trophy. Everything is still to play for between the two drivers: the final furlong begins at the Nürburgring circuit! Dimitri Enjalbert (Tech 1 Racing) has however yet to say his piece. On one of his team's favourite tracks, the third man is counting on this meeting to give his title chances a serious boost.

Time and again, Michaël Rossi and Maxime Martin have shared the spoils in Eurocup Mégane Trophy. Rossi began the season on perfect form with a clean sweep at Spa-Francorchamps. Spurred into action, Martin hit back at Silverstone, where he won both races. On the Hungaroring circuit, the two drivers were neck and neck, keeping everyone guessing with one win each. In the overall standings, the Frenchman leads the Belgian by just six points.

Everything is still to play for in the final eight races of the season. The two young drivers must keep up the good work on the highly technical Nürburgring circuit. The closer we get to the end of the season, the more the precious the points become. Everyone will arrive in Germany more determined than ever for a busy return to racing with two meetings in as many weekends. The slightest mistake will have serious consequences!

The battle between Rossi and Martin will be played out under the watchful eyes of Dmitri Enjalbert, currently third in the Eurocup Mégane Trophy. The Tech 1 driver has been making good progress after struggling in the first half of the season.  Runner-up in the 2007 championship, he has shown how quick he can be by twice finishing second. He clearly still has a lot to offer.  Anything is possible for Dimitri Enjalbert and Tech 1 Racing at the Nürburgring. It was on this same track last year that Enjalbert claimed his first win of the season and it was also here that Tech 1 Racing secured its first 1-2-3. The team from Toulouse has Matthieu Cheruy and Jonathan Hirsch among its ranks and who could also bring home the first victories of the 2008 season. Another driver to watch for a win is Ludovic Badey, who makes a one-off return with the TDS team.

Sébastien Dhouailly (Team Lompech Sport) and Bernhard Ten Brinke (Equipe Verschuur) have proved themselves to be heavyweight outsiders. Having tasted success at Silverstone, Dhouailly put in a repeat performance in Budapest and is hoping to do the same in Germany. Ten Brinke finished second at Silverstone and scored points in Hungary. The experienced Dutch driver needs to be more consistent on the track to secure a win, which is well within his reach.

The Gentleman Drivers category is equally tight. Hoevert Vos (Equipe Verschuur) still heads up the standings, thanks to a perfect start to the season at Spa-Francorchamps. With 64 points on the on the scoreboard, he will need to watch out for the return of a very consistent Bernard Delhez (Tech 1 Racing) and Jean-Philippe Madonia (TDS). Winner of the first race at Silverstone and both races at the Hungaroring, Madonia is just one point behind Delhez and nine behind Vos. Just like his teammate Michaël Rossi, Jean-Philippe Madonia has high hopes for the end of the season, which is set to be very exciting across the board.

Race Nº  Team (NAT)  Driver (ASN)  Gentlemen 1  Tech 1 Racing 1 (FRA)  Dimitri ENJALBERT (FRA)   2  Tech 1 Racing 1 (FRA)  Matthieu CHERUY (FRA)   3  Tech 1 Racing 2 (FRA)  Jonathan HIRSCHI (SUI)   4  Tech 1 Racing 2 (FRA)  Bernard DELHEZ (BEL)  G 6  Equipe Verschuur 1 (NED)  Harrie KOLEN (NED)  G 7  Equipe Verschuur 1 (NED)  Bernhard TEN BRINKE (NED)    8  Boutsen Energy Racing (BEL)  Maxime MARTIN (BEL)    9  Boutsen Energy Racing (BEL)  David DERMONT (MON)    10  Race Performance (SUI)  TBA    11  Race Performance (SUI)  Andreas MAYERL (AUT)    12  TDS Racing (FRA)  Michäel ROSSI (FRA)    14  TDS Racing (FRA)  Jean-Philippe MADONIA (FRA)  G 15  Team Lompech (FRA)  Sébastien DHOUAILLY (FRA)    16  Team Lompech (FRA)  Jean-Charles MIGINIAC (FRA)  G 17  Team Lompech (FRA)  Pierre HIRSCHI (SUI)  G 18  Blue Jumeirah Team (ESP)  Rafael UNZURRUNZAGA (UAE)  G 20  Equipe Verschuur 2 (NED)  Wim BEELEN (NED)    21  Equipe Verschuur 2 (NED)  Hoevert VOS (NED)  G 22  Boutsen Energy Racing (BEL)  TBA    23  TDS Racing (FRA)  Ludovic BADEY (FRA)    24  Oregon Team (ITA)  Fabrice WALFISCH (FRA)    25  Oregon Team (ITA)  TBA  G 73  Oregon Team (ITA)  Angelo BAIGUERA (ITA)  G

Related Motorsport Articles

82,846 articles