Eurocup Mégane Trophy

Le Mans Presentation - The best show yet

Just a few days ago, the Eurocup Mégane Trophy drivers put on an exceptional performance to the hearty approval of their German fans. At the Le Mans Bugatti circuit, the competitors, currently led by Michaël Rossi (TDS) and Maxime Martin (Thierry Boutsen Energy Racing) will be determined to do just as well!

The Eurocup Mégane Trophy was a real crowd-pleaser for the 90,000 strong audience gathered around the Nürburgring. Belgium's David Dermont (Thierry Boutsen Energy Racing) turned out to be a revelation during the first race, driving to victory in the final lap of a thrilling encounter which saw the lead change hands five times. The day after, his fellow Belgian and teammate Maxime Martin came out on top after holding off a forty-minute assault from Michaël Rossi.

Having been denied victory last week, Michaël Rossi intends on taking his revenge on French soil. With two pole positions under his belt in Germany, the TDS driver had to settle for two second places to extend his lead in the championship.

With another 6 races to go, Maxime Martin is now only 12 points short of Rossi. The Thierry Boutsen Energy Racing driver notched up his fifth win in the category and his fourth of the season at the Nürburgring, and he has no intention of stopping there!

But the intense two-way battle for top spot has in no way overshadowed the rest of the field. The recent success of David Dermont has rekindled hopes of victory for many of the drivers.

Representing the French contingent, Dimitri Enjalbert will be looking to come out on top. The Tech 1 Racing driver has already claimed four podium places this year; however he has not had a win since Barcelona at the end of last season. Teammate Matthieu Cheruy (Tech 1 Racing) will attempt to follow in his footsteps along with Sébastien Dhouailly (Team Lompech Sport). These two drivers already have two podium finishes in 2008.

The Swiss driver Jonathan Hirschi (Tech 1 Racing) and Dutch driver Bernhard Ten Brinke (Equipe Verschuur) are both in the top 6 in the championship and are still in with the chance of making it into the final three, if they can get a good result at the Bugatti circuit. Margot Laffite (Thierry Boutsen Energy Racing) will be making her debut in the category at the French round of the World Series by Renault, a good opportunity to make an impression alongside the 22 participating drivers!

Having taken the lead in the Gentleman Drivers category in Germany, the Frenchman Jean-Philippe Madonia (TDS) will have his work cut out to hold onto his position in the face of stiff competition from many drivers, including Dutchman Hoevert Vos (Equipe Verschuur), the Belgian Bernard Delhez (Tech 1 Racing) and Swiss driver Pierre Hirschi (Team Lompech Sport).

The Teams standings remain close with Thierry Boutsen Energy Racing, TDS and Tech 1 Racing separated by just twelve points. The slightest mistake could prove very costly in this second half of the season.

With plenty of action, overtaking and pit stop tactics, this weekend's two Eurocup Mégane Trophy races promise to be hotly contested!

Race Nº Team (NAT) Driver (ASN) Gentlemen

1 Tech 1 Racing 1 (FRA) Dimitri ENJALBERT (FRA)  2 Tech 1 Racing 1 (FRA) Matthieu CHERUY (FRA)  3 Tech 1 Racing 2 (FRA) Jonathan HIRSCHI (SUI)  4 Tech 1 Racing 2 (FRA) Bernard DELHEZ (BEL) G 6 Equipe Verschuur 1 (NED) Harrie KOLEN (NED) G 7 Equipe Verschuur 1 (NED) Bernhard TEN BRINKE (NED)  8 Boutsen Energy Racing (BEL) Maxime MARTIN (BEL)  9 Boutsen Energy Racing (BEL) David DERMONT (MON)  10 Race Performance (SUI) TBA  11 Race Performance (SUI) Andreas MAYERL (AUT)  12 TDS Racing (FRA) Michäel ROSSI (FRA)  14 TDS Racing (FRA) Jean-Philippe MADONIA (FRA) G 15 Team Lompech (FRA) Sébastien DHOUAILLY (FRA)  16 Team Lompech (FRA) Jean-Charles MIGINIAC (FRA) G 17 Team Lompech (FRA) Pierre HIRSCHI (SUI) G 18 Blue Jumeirah Team (ESP) Rafael UNZURRUNZAGA (UAE) G 20 Equipe Verschuur 2 (NED) Wim BEELEN (NED)  21 Equipe Verschuur 2 (NED) Hoevert VOS (NED) G 22 Boutsen Energy Racing (BEL) Marguerite LAFITTE (FRA)  23 Oregon Team (ITA) TBA  24 Oregon Team (ITA) Fabrice WALFISCH (FRA)  73 Oregon Team (ITA) Angelo BAIGUERA (ITA) G

Related Motorsport Articles

84,628 articles