Chilton wins final 2008 race

Tom Chilton (Poole) has won today's final round of the 2008 HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship at the Brands Hatch circuit in Kent.

Chilton (pictured right) led all the way in his Team Halfords Honda Civic to head home Motorbase BMW driver Steven Kane (Northampton) and Vauxhall's Tom Onslow-Cole (New Malden, Surrey).

However, officials stopped the race a lap early after oil on the track led to several of the front-running drivers - including Onslow-Cole - briefly sliding off the circuit.

Fourth position for BMW Dealer Team UK driver Mat Jackson (Henley-in-Arden) means he has beaten SEAT's Jason Plato (Oxford) to second in the final championship standings.

Team RAC's Colin Turkington (Portadown), who finished the race in fifth in his BMW, has successfully defended his Independent Drivers' title.

Italy's Fabrizio Giovanardi - who earlier in the day was crowned BTCC Champion for the second year running - set the race's fastest lap in his Vauxhall Vectra VXR.

Elsewhere, privateer John George from Par, Cornwall emerged unharmed from a high-speed roll in his TH/JAG Honda Integra on the opening lap.

Result, BTCC race 3 Brands Hatch (provisional):1. Tom Chilton (GBR), Team Halfords/Honda Civic, 25 laps in 24m47.517s 2. Steven Kane (GBR), Motorbase/BMW 320si, +0.727s 3. Tom Onslow-Cole (GBR), VX Racing/Vauxhall Vectra VXR, +1.166sFastest lap: Giovanardi, 49.871s

Final BTCC Drivers Points (provisional):1. Fabrizio Giovanardi (ITA), 262 points CHAMPION2. Mat Jackson (GBR), 2263. Jason Plato (GBR), 2234. Colin Turkington (GBR), 212*5. Matt Neal (GBR), 1856. Tom Onslow-Cole (GBR), 170etc.* Independent Drivers Champion

Related Motorsport Articles

84,681 articles