Eurocup Mégane Trophy

Two races to make the break

Just six points separate Michaël Rossi (TDS) and Maxime Martin (Thierry Boutsen Energy Racing) in the lead up to the final round of the season in Barcelona. In a farewell to this version of Mégane Trophy, ahead of a move to the new model which will be showcased at the meeting, the two drivers have saved the best for last.

It should be a final round full of possibilities, and not to be missed! Unveiled at the Paris Motor Show, new Mégane Trophy will be seen in action for the first time on the Barcelona circuit for the meeting which marks the last round of the World Series by Renault. It marks a symbolic handover between the old and new versions of the iconic saloon which has graced the World Series by Renault since its creation in 2005.

The last Eurocup Mégane Trophy meeting of the year promises to be a battle royal between Michaël Rossi and Maxime Martin. At Estoril, Rossi fought back to claim the victory which had eluded him for five races.

The Frenchman chose the right moment to redress the balance, entering the last round of the season with a six point advantage. With eleven podium finishes in twelve races, Rossi knows that consistency is his strong suit. Victory in Saturday's race would certainly give him an easier time on Sunday.

In the other corner, Maxime Martin is certainly in an ideal position. Over forty points clear of third-place Dimitri Enjalbert (Tech 1 Racing), the Belgian driver is guaranteed second place at the very least. He has nothing to lose and can take all the risks necessary in both races.

With six wins already, Martin has equalled the record held by Jan Heylen for the number of victories in one season. One more would bring him closer to the title and would allow him to claim the accolade.

The teams title is just as wide-open. Thierry Boutsen Energy Racing, with drivers Maxime Martin and David Dermont, are eight points ahead of TDS.

In third place, Tech 1 Racing could also steal the title. Having secured the 2006 and 2007 titles, Simon Abadie's team are dead-set on making it a hat-trick, and Dimitri Enjalbert and Matthieu Cheruy can count on support in the form of Matthieu Lahaye, who is not allowed to score any points. After racing in the 2005, 2006 and 2007 seasons, which culminated in a runner-up title in 2007, Matthieu Lahaye couldn't miss the final race in the car which has shaped his early career.

In the Gentleman Drivers category, Jean-Philippe Madonia (TDS) is close to the goal. He only needs a handful of points to become the first winner in the category, which will see action again next season. However, the fight for second place is still undecided, with Hoevert Vos (Equipe Verschuur) and Bernard Delhez (Tech 1 Racing) separated by just three points. Right behind them, Pierre Hirschi (Team Lompech Sport) and Harrie Kolen (Equipe Verschuur) should also be joining the tussle for victory.

Race Nº Team (NAT) Driver (ASN) Gentlemen

1 Tech 1 Racing 1 (FRA) Dimitri ENJALBERT (FRA)  2 Tech 1 Racing 1 (FRA) Matthieu CHERUY (FRA)  3 Tech 1 Racing 2 (FRA) Jonathan HIRSCHI (SUI)  4 Tech 1 Racing 2 (FRA) Bernard DELHEZ (BEL) G 6 Equipe Verschuur 1 (NED) Harrie KOLEN (NED) G 7 Equipe Verschuur 1 (NED) Bernhard TEN BRINKE (NED)  8 Boutsen Energy Racing (BEL) Maxime MARTIN (BEL)  9 Boutsen Energy Racing (BEL) David DERMONT (MON)  10 Race Performance (SUI) Nicolas MAULINI (SUI)  11 Race Performance (SUI) Andreas MAYERL (AUT)  12 TDS Racing (FRA) Michäel ROSSI (FRA)  14 TDS Racing (FRA) Jean-Philippe MADONIA (FRA) G 15 Team Lompech (FRA) Sébastien DHOUAILLY (FRA)  16 Team Lompech (FRA) Jean-Charles MIGINIAC (FRA) G 17 Team Lompech (FRA) Pierre HIRSCHI (SUI) G 18 Blue Jumeirah Team (ESP) Rafael UNZURRUNZAGA (UAE) G 20 Equipe Verschuur 2 (NED) Wim BEELEN (NED)  21 Equipe Verschuur 2 (NED) Hoevert VOS (NED) G 22 Tech 1 Racing 2 (FRA) Matthieu LAHAYE (FRA)  24 Oregon Team (ITA) Fabrice WALFISCH (FRA)  25 Oregon Team (ITA) TBA G 26 Oregon Team (ITA) TBA  73 Oregon Team (ITA) Angelo BAIGUERA (ITA) G