Formula Master update‏


2008 Formula Master rookie Fabio Leimer will test with Indy Lights team Sam Schmidt Motorsports during a three-day testing session from 27 October to 29 October.

Leimer will test with Sam Schmidt Motorsports, the most winning team in Indy Lights history, on road circuit Putnam Park, Indiana, before making his oval debut at the Kentucky Speedway, Kentucky.

Sam Schmidt, former Indy Racing League driver and owner of Sam Schmidt Motorsports is delighted to have Fabio testing with the team. "Fabio is a fantastic young driver. We have seen his progress throughout the Formula Master season and he has demonstrated great potential. Driving an Indy Lights car will be different for him, and it will be his first time driving on an oval, but I'm sure Formula Master platform has made him more than capable of rising to the new challenge."

The Swiss driver inherited the 2008 Formula Master Rookies' prize after Champion Michael Ammermüller renounced the testing session due to personal reasons.

Formula Master's has delivered some of Europe's best racing since its debut in 2007 with the Series' concept of offering young, aspiring drivers the chance to establish themselves on an international stage proving a great success already.

2009•        Two events with FIA Formula 1•        Six event with FIA WTCC•        Only series to partner two FIA world championships for all its rounds•        Eight events - 16 races•        Eight European destinations•        Both races broadcast on the Eurosport platform with Sunday races live on Eurosport International•        Test with the Honda Racing F1 team for the winnerN.Technology race car•        Powerful Formula Master Honda K20A engine (250 HP) •        Light-weight body (560 kg including driver)•        Magneti Marelli hydraulic gearbox control system with gearbox and clutch paddles•        Magneti Marelli ECU Marvel 8 (version 2008), which includes data acquisition•        First car in the world to secure 2008 FIA F3 homologation•        Control tyres by YokohamaSeries statistics •        Average of 350,000 attending spectators per season•        Average of 40 drivers - 18 countries represented per season•        Inaugural race at Valencia, Spain on 19 May 2007 •        Youngest race winner Pablo Sanchez Lopez (MEX), Alan Racing •        2007 Champion Jérôme D'Ambrosio (BEL), Cram Competition•        2008 Champion  Chris van der Drift (NZL), JD Motorsport 

Related Motorsport Articles

84,628 articles