MSA Asphalt Rally Championship


David Kynaston & Andy Russell claimed the 2008 Richard Egger Insurance MSA Asphalt Rally Championship with third place overall on the final round, the UTS Cheviot National Rally. It was enough to clinch the Devonian crew's second title in three years, overhauling series leader Steve Simpson whose Hyundai Accent WRC retired after leaving the road on the opening stage of the Otterburn Military Ranges-based event.

Outright winners of the Cheviot were Andy Fenwick/Lee Tindall whose Skoda Octavia WRC had built up a sufficient buffer over its rivals during the early stages that, when forced to ease off when the rear diff failed, was able to maintain its position at the head of the field.

Second on the day, rounding off a fantastic season, were Simon Mauger/Brian Cammack in their two-wheel drive Ford Escort RS. The result enabled Mauger to finish third overall in the MSA Asphalt Championship, while Cammack moved up to second in the Co-drivers' category.

Prior to the start of the Cheviot National Rally, former MSA National Gravel Champion David Mann was also in the frame for the top spot in this year's Asphalt Championship. However, he and co-driver Alun Cook were forced out of the event when their Subaru Impreza WRC suffered clutch failure. The team's mechanics put in a sterling effort to change the unit at the following service but ran out of time before the task was completed.

Richard Egger Insurance are confirmed as headline sponsors for the 2009 MSA Asphalt Rally Championship which kicks off on the Tour of Epynt on Sunday 22nd February 2009.

UTS Cheviot National Rally Results:

1 Andy Fenwick/Lee Tindall                    Skoda Octavia WRC         1h42m21s

2 Simon Mauger/Brian Cammack             Ford Escort RS                 1h43m13s

3 David Kynaston/Andy Russell             Audi A3 Quattro                1h43m52s

4 Tony Thompson/Paul Hughes              Mitsubishi Lancer EVO9    1h43m53s

5 David Hardie/John McCulloch               Subaru Impreza                1h47m05s

6 Graham Hollis/Ashley Trimble              Ford Escort RS                  1h49m42s

Final Championship

1 David Kynaston 114

2 Steve Simpson 99

3 Simon Mauger 95

4 David Mann 82

5 Graham Hollis 81

Related Motorsport Articles

84,685 articles