Bikes: 2009 FIM SPEEDWAY


The FIM Speedway Grand Prix Commission and BSI Speedway – promoters of the world championship FIM Speedway Grand Prix Series - have today confirmed the four permanent wild cards and full rider line-up for the 2009 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Series (SGP). 

The permanent wild card riders that will complete the full rider line-up for the 2009 individual world championship are:


Commenting on the 2009 SGP rider line-up Paul Bellamy, Managing Director, BSI Speedway, said:

“The riders chosen as the permanent wild cards reflect the experience and emerging talent of speedway riders in the world.  Russia’s Emil Sajfutdinov is one of the sport’s hottest prospects at the moment and will be an exciting addition to the Series.  At 19 years old he will be the youngest permanent rider in the 2009 Series and already has an unprecedented two World Under-21 titles under his belt that underlines his flair and aptitude for the sport.

“Sweden’s Fredrick Lindgren, who at 23 was the youngest rider in this year’s Series, has shown great maturity and ability in his first season as a Grand Prix rider and is also widely recognised across Europe as one of the sport’s rising stars.”

In addition to bolstering the young blood to the Series, Great Britain’s seasoned FIM Speedway Grand Prix campaigners Scott Nicholls and Chris Harris have also secured a permanent berth in the 2009 Series as Bellamy explains:

“This year Scott made two finals and only just finished outside the top eight and an automatic qualification for the 2009 Series, but his performances have shown he still has the commitment and drive to be World Champion.  Chris, a Grand Prix winner in 2007, knows he needs to prove he is world class next year following a disappointing 2008 campaign but we all know that he has the ability to be a great rider.”

Ole Olsen, FIM Speedway Grand Prix Race Director said:  “The line-up for the 2009 FIM Speedway Grand Prix Series is a very exciting one.  The combination of the experienced campaigners versus the young pretenders will provide some thrilling racing as all 15 riders believe they are capable of winning Grands Prix and ultimately the world championship.  I believe next year’s Series will be one of the most competitive seasons to date and we are looking forward to welcoming them all in 2009.”

The 2009 FIM Speedway Grand Prix rider line-up is detailed below.  The 2009 FIM Speedway Grand Prix calendar will be announced in due course.

2009 INDIVIDUAL SPEEDWAY WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP GRAND PRIXQUALIFIED RIDERSRiding Number Name Country FMN1 Nicki PEDERSEN Denmark DMU2 Jason CRUMP Australia MA3 Tomasz GOLLOB Poland PZM4 Greg HANCOCK USA AMA5 Hans ANDERSEN Denmark DMU6 Leigh ADAMS Australia MA7 Andreas JONSSON Sweden SVEMO8 Rune HOLTA Poland PZM9 Scott NICHOLLS Great Britain ACU10 Fredrik LINDGREN Sweden SVEMO11 Chris HARRIS Great Britain ACU12 Kenneth BJERRE Denmark DMU13 Grzegorz WALASEK Poland PZM14 Sebastian ULAMEK Poland PZM15 Emil SAJFUTDINOV Russia MFR16 EVENT WILD CARD


QUALIFIED SUBSTITUTESRiding Number Name Country FMN19 Niels-Kristian IVERSEN Denmark DMU20 Tomasz JEDRZJAK Poland PZM21 Ryan SULLIVAN Australia MA22 Jesper B. MONBERG Denmark DMU23 Adrian MIEDZINSKI Poland PZM24 Jurica PAVLIC Croatia HMS

Related Motorsport Articles

84,698 articles