MSA Scottish Rally Championship


The MSA Scottish Rally Championship (SRC) has announced that global tyre manufacturer Hankook is to sponsor the 2009 series.The SRC has developed into the most successful rally series in the U.K., attracting record levels of participants and spectators alike.

The eight constituent events cover the length and breadth of the country with each round attracting more than 100 competitors and 15,000 spectators.

Having in the past, produced international drivers of the calibre of Colin McRae, Louise Aitken-Walker, Andrew Cowan and Robbie Head, the series’ organisers are determined to continue this ladder of success and have committed extra resources to an expanded Junior training programme in 2009.  The new sponsorship deal will include a fully funded prize drive on a European or Far East event, offering a fantastic opportunity to the selected SRC Junior to test himself on the international stage.

Campbell Roy, Chairman of the MSA Scottish Rally Championship said, “We are delighted to have concluded this groundbreaking deal with such a high profile international company.  Hankook brings a wealth of motorsport experience to the SRC and will undoubtedly assist us in further raising the profile of the sport in Scotland.”

Hankook is one of the top seven tyre manufacturers in the world and is an original equipment supplier to Ford, Volvo, Volkswagen, Renault, Hyundai, and Kia. Its involvement in the UK rally scene has included success with the SJR Hankook Rally Team and the long term support of top drivers, both in the UK and overseas.Motorsport manager Mike Patterson said, “We are delighted to be focusing our attention in 2009 on the Scottish Rally Championship. The series attracts some intense competition and the enthusiasm and professionalism of the organising team has been instrumental in finalising this deal.’’

“Support of motorsport at all levels is at the heart of Hankook’s plans and in particular, the high profile prize for the Juniors is testament to this commitment.”

The Championship will be entitled ‘The Hankook MSA Scottish Rally Championship’ and dates for the 2009 programme are:-

14 February - Arnold Clark Thistle Snowman Rally 21 March - Brick & Steel Border Counties Rally 25 April - The Station Garage Mitsubishi Granite City Rally 24 May - Jim Clark Reivers Rally27 June - RSAC Scottish Rally 8 August - Gleaner Speyside Stages 5 September - Merrick Forest Stages3 October - Colin McRae Forest Stages

Related Motorsport Articles

84,701 articles