Crambrooks Takes V8 Ute ..

 Championship Win at Oran Park 

Mother Energy Drink driver and local Sydneysider Layton Crambrook claimed the 2008 Yokohama V8 Utes Racing Series at Oran Park today, whilst reigning champion Grant Johnson took out the round and Kurt “Gonzo” Wimmer the final Race. Crambrook was in a rusty spot (14th grid position) for the start of the race having to finish in the top eight if his only rival for the title Kim Jane was to win.“I wasn’t really fazed, I knew I had a job to do and just went ahead and did it.”

“We are just wrapped to take out the Series. This is what we have been working hard for all year and it’s such a great feeling that we pulled it off,” said Crambrook.The Ford driver pushed his way up to 9th position and was handed the eighth spot after Kanga Loaders driver, Gary Macdonald was sent to the pits after the fourth lap following a mechanical black flag due to a trailing bumper bar.This didn’t seem to matter though as Holden driver Jane was busy battling for second and third position with Ryal “The Kid” Harris, Sage Automation Driver, Gary “Chuckie” Baxter, Ford driver, Jack Elsegood and Johnson who were all charging for the spot. Grove Fruit Juice driver Grant Johnson was quick enough to take second spot and Baxter third. Baxter, Harris and Johnson were also battling for the third spot in the Series, which was taken out by the #1Grove Fruit Juice driver.

Wimmer repeated his great start from pole the day before and left the rest of the field behind to win the final by almost 2 seconds.

Glenn McNally ended the race in 12th position, which gave him the Rookie of the Year Award along with the Ashley Cooper Memorial Trophy, which will be presented at the V8 Utes Awards Dinner. “It’s a great feeling to win the award. We have been working for it all year and made it in the end.

“It’s an honour to be the first driver to accept the Memorial Trophy. Ashley was a great guy and I wish all the best to his family,” said McNally.

Charlie Kovacs was unfortunate not to finish his 200th Race after an incident with ISRI Truck Seats Steve Hodges in the first lap of the race.

The SS Inductions Hard Charger Award went to Damien White from Kanga Loaders Racing after passing 20 utes in race one.

The Clutch Industry Hole Shot Award went to Grant Johnson form Grove Juice Racing for the best race start and the Sonax Best Presented Award went to Brad Patton from the Big Gun and Ideal Electrical Racing Team.

The top four Series contenders were stripped down following Race 3 by technical director Alan Pitt and Ryal Harris excluded from Race 3 due to a shock absorber technical infringementBelow are the Top 10 Results for Race Three

32  Wilson Brothers Racing                  Kurt Wimmer                1:21.671  Grove Fruit Juice/Permacoat           Grant Johnson              1:22.09 3  Sage Automation                               Gary Baxter                  1:22.2927  Bob Jane T-Marts/Trading Post     Kim Jane                      1:22.48 11  Coopers Pale Ale Racing               Jack Elsegood             1:22.16 7     Lubrimaxx Racing/PortMacquarie George Miedecke       1:22.35 71  Mother Energy Drink/Lamont          Layton Crambrook      1:22.52 99  Storage King/Wilson Fabrics          Ben Dunn                     1:23.16 66  WPR Racing/Select TV                   Colin Corkery               1:23.1088 9  Jesus All About Life                            Andrew Fisher             1:23.1034

Below are the Final Series Points

Race Number Driver Series Total 71 Layton Crambrook 667 27 Kim Jane 652 1 Grant Johnson 601 3 Gary Baxter 568 11 Jack Elsegood 511 58 Ryal Harris 511 66 Colin Corkery  504 2 Stephen Robinson 468 42 Gary MacDonald 454 7 George Miedecke 453 45 Craig Dontas 444 12 Glenn McNally 418 69 Charlie Kovacs 385 9 Andrew Fisher 369 99 Ben Dunn 307 17 Robert Jarvis 273 28 Warren Millett 271 43 Steve Hodges 268 55 George Elliot 254 26 Ben Kavich 240 16 Wayne Lamont 229 25 Greg Willis 225 32 Kurt Wimmer 213 5 Justin Van Twest 196 8 Michael Bartsch 186 18 Scott Jennings 160 14 Brad Patton 158 4 Peter Burnitt 149 24 Nandi Kiss 121 41 Damien White 22 85 Ray Sidebottom 10 37 Jason Gommersal 6

Related Motorsport Articles

84,627 articles