Supercross - Dungey leads class

Ryan Dungey has taken the lead in the Western Region Supercross Lites class following victory at Saturday night's second round of the AMA/ World Monster Energy Supercross series at Phoenix, Arizona - while team mate Chad Reed has moved to within three points of the Supercross class lead.

Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Dungey took the lead on lap six of the Lites Main at Chase Field Stadium - packed out with more than 46,000 fans - when leader Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) crashed. He now holds a two-point lead over Weimer in the series.

He said: "After I saw Jake crash, I knew there were plenty of laps left so I needed to be smart and consistent. I'm happy to move into the points lead as we head back to Anaheim next weekend."

In the Supercross Main, Reed was third out of the gate behind Josh Grant and James Stewart - who took the lead before the end of lap one. The RM-Z450 pilot got by Grant on the third lap and set after Stewart in what proved to be a thrilling final where just half a second separated them at the end of 20 laps.

Reed said: "I felt real good tonight. I was chasing the #7 bike down and having fun but it wasn't enough. I will take the Championship week by week and stay on the podium."

Reed's team mate Mike Alessi finished the race in 11th position in his comeback from injury. Third rider Michael Byrne did not race as he is still recovering from injury.

Supercross Main Event: 1. James Stewart (Yamaha), 2. Chad Reed (Rockstar Makita Suzuki), 3. Josh Grant (Yamaha), 4. Ivan Tedesco (Honda), 5. Andrew Short (Honda), 6. Kevin Windham (Honda), 7. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki), 8. Josh Hill (Yamaha), 9. Tim Ferry (Kawasaki), 10. Davi Millsaps (Honda), 11. Mike Alessi (Rockstar Makita Suzuki).

Points (after 2 rounds):  1 Grant 45, 2 Reed 42, 3 Short 38, 4 Tedesco 33, 5 Ferry 30.10 Alessi 20.

Lites Main Event: 1. Ryan Dungey (Rockstar Makita Suzuki), 2. Justin Brayton (KTM), 3. Ryan Morais (Kawasaki), 4. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki), 5. Chris Blose (Honda), 6. PJ Larsen (Kawasaki), 7. Ryan Sipes (KTM), 8. Cedric Soubeyras (Yamaha), 9. Ben Evans (Honda), 10. Dan Reardon (Honda).

Points (after 2 rounds): 1 Dungey 45, 2 Weimer 43, 3 Morais 42, 4 Brayton 36, 5 Blose 34.

Related Motorsport Articles

84,545 articles