Formula Master update


Czech team I.S.R. Racing has confirmed 2008 Formula 3 Euroseries Rookie Champion Erik Janis and Filip Salaquarda for its 2009 Formula Master season.

Both Czech drivers have driven in the Series before; Salaquarda took part in all 2008 rounds as well as Monza, Italy, in 2007, with Janis competing in Porto, Portugal, and Anderstorp, Sweden, the same year.

"This is great news for me," said Janis whose previous experience includes A1GP as well as Formula 3 Euroseries. "After last year's Rookie Champion title, I hoped to continue in formula racing and that came true with I.S.R. Racing. I knew the team and the Series already after racing with them in 2007 and I think Formula Master is a very interesting series from many aspects. It's a step up to the higher formulae and Eurosport's coverage of all the races is an advantage. So is the fact that they partner WTCC and F1 weekends."

"I'm really looking forward to the new season," added team-mate Salaquarda who also raced in Formula 3 Euroseries and A1GP before joining Formula Master. "I'm glad to have Erik in the team; we've been friends since childhood and I think we can help each other."

I.S.R. Racing Team Principal Igor Salaquarda confirmed his belief in this season's drivers, saying: "I think we have a really good line-up for this year. I welcome Erik's comeback, he has a good background thanks to Formula 3, as does Filip, and both are looking for success."

Erik Janis - Racing history

2008   Formula 3 Euroseries, Mücke Motorsport (Rookie Champion)

          RTL GP Masters of Formula 3, Mücke Motorsport

          A1GP, Team Czech Republic

2007   Skoda Octavia Cup Czech Republic, ACA Autocentrála            Hlucín I (Champion)

          Formula Master, Team ISR

2006   Skoda Octavia Cup Czech Republic, ACA Autocentrála           Hlucín I

SEAT Leon Supercopa Germany, Team LogiPlus powered by Konrad Motorsport

          FIA GT GT1, Rock Media Motors

2003   Formula BMW ADAC

Filip Salaquarda - Racing history

2008   Formula Master, I.S.R. Racing

          A1GP, Team Czech Republic

2007   Formula Master, Team ISR

Formula 3 Euroseries, HBR Motorsport

          A1GP, Team Czech Republic

2006   Formula 3 Euroseries, Team ISR

          F3000 International Masters, Charouz Racing

          Masters of Formula 3, Team ISR

2005   Formula 3 Euroseries, Team ISR

          Formula 3 Macau GP, HBR

2004   Formula 3 Germany, Team ISR

2003   Formula BMW ADAC, SONAX-ISR-Charouz

2002   Formula BMW ADAC, Team ISR

Formula Master has delivered some of Europe's best racing since its debut in 2007 with the Series' concept of offering young, aspiring drivers the chance to establish themselves on an international stage proving a great success already.


·         Two events with Formula 1 (Hungaroring and Spa)

·         Six event with WTCC (Pau, Valencia, Brno, Brands Hatch, Oschersleben, Imola)

·         Only series to partner two FIA world championships for all its rounds

·         Eight events - 16 races

·         Eight European destinations

·         Both races broadcast on the Eurosport platform with Sunday races live on Eurosport International

N.Technology race car

·         Engine: Formula Master (250 HP)

·         Chassis: Tatuus carbon fibre monocoque

·         Light-weight body (560 kg including driver)

·         Magneti Marelli hydraulic gearbox control system with gearbox and clutch paddles

·         Magneti Marelli ECU Marvel 8 (version 2008), which includes data acquisition

·         First car in the world to secure 2008 FIA F3 homologation

·         Control tyres by Yokohama

Series statistics

·         105 million TV viewers in 78 countries worldwide

·         684,000 attending spectators (2007-08)

·         66 drivers - 23 countries (2007-08)

·         2007 Champion Jérôme D'Ambrosio (BEL), Cram Competition

·         2008 Champion Chris van der Drift (NZL), JD Motorsport

Related Motorsport Articles

84,628 articles