GP2 Fat Burner Fly at Paul Ricard

Ricard Lucas  di  Grassi  signed  yesterday’s  fastest  latpime  closely  followed  by  his  young  teammate Dani Clos

Following  their  2008  success,  Fat  Burner  Racing  Engineering  start  their  2009  campaign  with  the same kind of competitiveness, it seems. Second and sixth in the morning session - with Spaniard Dani Clos ahead of his teammate - the new line-up signed this afternoon the best two laptimes of the  day.  Lucas  di  Grassi  was  quickest  in  a  1:08.841,  but  he  was  closely  followed  by  Clos  in  a 1:08.961.

Behind the flying pair, ART’s Pastor Maldonado and Super Nova’s Javier Villa also confirmed their good  form  and  improved  their  morning’s  best  laptime.  Vitaly  Petrov  at  Barwa  Campos  Team completed the Top Five, ahead of Kamui Kobayashi at Dams, Nico Hülkenberg on the second ART car, Jérôme d’Ambrosio also at Dams and this morning’s fastest man Romain Grosjean at Barwa Campos. Twenty-two drivers finished within the same second.

 Telmex Arden’s Edoardo Mortara and Ocean Racing’s Alvaro Parente who finished respectively 6th and  8th  this  afternoon  saw  their  laptimes  deleted  after  it  was  found  that  they  were  running underweighted.

Today  will  mark  the  last  day  of  the first 2009 test session.

 The cars will run on the 2D short track configuration.

 Afternoon session

Driver Nationality Team Time Laps

1. Lucas Di Grassi BRA Fat Burner Racing Engineering 1:08.841 39

2. Dani Clos ESP Fat Burner Racing Engineering 1:08.961 44

3. Pastor Maldonado VEN ART Grand Prix 1:08.985 33

4. Javier Villa ESP Super Nova Racing 1:09.076 38

5. Vitaly Petrov RUS Barwa Campos Team 1:09.100 30

6. Kamui Kobayashi JPN Dams 1:09.220 46

7. Nico Hulkenberg GER ART Grand Prix 1:09.326 30

8. Jerome D Ambrosio BEL Dams 1:09.383 30

9. Romain Grosjean FRA Barwa Campos Team 1:09.424 38

10. Davide Rigon ITA Trident Racing 1:09.429 41

11. Luca Filippi ITA Super Nova Racing 1:09.437 35

12. Roldan Rodriguez ESP Piquet GP 1:09.469 31

13. Alberto Valerio BRA Piquet GP 1:09.527 30

14. Karun Chandhok IND Ocean Racing Technology 1:09.564 25

15. Andreas Zuber UAE Fisichella Motor Sport Int. 1:09.564 13

16. Davide Valsecchi ITA Durango 1:09.598 17

17. Hamad Al Fardan BRN Trident Racing 1:09.604 45

18. Sergio Perez MEX Telmex Arden International 1:09.649 42

19. Diego Nunes BRA iSport International 1:09.815 37

20 Michael Herck ROM DPR 1:09.831 33

21. Giedo Van der Garde NED iSport International 1:10.170 37

22. Nelson Panciatici FRA Durango 1:10.231 28

23. Giacomo Ricci ITA DPR 1:10.604 24

Related Motorsport Articles

84,671 articles