Record entry for Porsche Carrera Cup

The stage is set for a record-breaking season in the Porsche Carrera Cup GB, after the best ever entry for the championship was unveiled at the Carrera Cup GB pre-season test and media day at Silverstone today (Monday, 16 March 2009).

The superb line-up of teams and drivers ready to compete in the stunning 911 GT3 Cup cars shows an impressive total of 25 registered competitors, and an expected grid of at least 20 cars at every round. Significantly, the entry is evenly spread across the pro, pro-am1 and pro-am2 categories, which will ensure great racing all the way down the field.

"We are absolutely delighted with the response to the Carrera Cup GB for 2009," said championship manager Marion Barnaby. "These are difficult financial times and so we are very grateful to the teams and drivers who have worked so hard over the winter to make this record entry possible."

The latest teams and drivers to confirm their plans include Scottish teenage sensation Glynn Geddie, who has signed to race with Team Parker Racing for his first full season in the championship. Also in the Team Parker squad will be UK-based American Jake Rosenzweig, who will tackle three race weekends alongside his single-seater campaign in Europe.

From Scotland will come a pair of cars from the newly title Celtic Speed team, to be driven by Tommy Dreelan and Bob Lyons. Both drivers made their Carrera Cup debuts part way through 2008 and will now return for fuller campaigns.

Another driver returning to the Carrera Cup GB is David Ashburn, with a fourth car run under the Motorbase Performance banner. Ashburn is only expected to contest a limited programme, and other drivers are likely to fill the seat at other rounds.

Parr Motorsport will again field Robin Clark in the pro-am2 category. Championship newcomer Glenn McMenamin, who hopes to join the grid at Donington Park in May, will join Clark in the squad.

The top three from 2008 are all back for more; Tim Harvey will defend his title while Michael Caine and Tim Bridgman try and take the crown for the first time. Ranged against them in the pro class will be Carrera Cup GB Scholarship winners Tom Bradshaw and Lewis Hopkins.

Team Parker Racing, Red Line Racing and Motorbase Performance will renew their long-running rivalry in the teams' championship, while RSS Performance returns with a strong three-car squad.

New to the Carrera Cup GB is the JHR team, which will field series newcomers Robert Lawson and Derek Pierce, while new teams joining the grid include Team Kinfaun, JMH Automotive, and GT Marques.

New drivers on the grid will include youngsters Ollie Jackson and 17-year old George Richardson, while Michael Leonard, Tony Gilham, Karl Leonard, John Quartermaine and Graeme Mundy all return.

The season kicks off at Brands Hatch on 4/5 April and follows the BTCC calendar for a 10-weekend, 20-race schedule. It is going to be a fabulous season.