V8 Utes

 Chuckies Trackskill Delivers V8 Ute Hometown WinSage Automation Racings’, Gary “Chuckie” Baxter took out the first round of the 2009 Yokohama V8 Ute Racing Series – powered by Dodo at Clipsal 500 in Adelaide.

Ryal “The Kid” Harris claimed second and Kim “The Assassin” Jane came third for the round.

Chuckie wasn’t quick enough to win the third race but had ample points from his race one win and his fastest time in qualifying to secure him the top podium spot.

“I haven’t had a win here in the last six years.  It felt so good. I love this place!” said Baxter

Baxter wasn’t quick enough off the start today and Harris made the jump to lead into turn1 for the first of 8 laps.

Baxter fought back and shadowed Harris looking for any opportunity, however the Gold Coast young gun held the veteran at bay to secure himself the Race Three win and second for the round.

“It felt really good out there, it was such a great win and it’s nice to know that I’m starting to give these older guys a run for their money,” he said.

Jane put up a fierce battle with Coopers Pale Ale Racings, Jack Elsegood to secure himself third place in Race Three and also the round.

“You can’t give Jack an inch or he will go for it, we have had some great battles over the years,” said Jane.

Elsegood tried to catch Jane on a few occasions throughout the race and he gave it his all at Turn 9 with a big dive under brakes in the closing laps. Elsegood gave him a nice nudge in the side and had to contend with his fourth place finish for Race Three and equal fourth with George Miedecke for the Round.

Battles continued all over the track to secure a top ten place, Thirsty Camel Racings, Craig “The Growler” Dontas, Andrew “Fishtail Fisher and local Charlie “Handlebars” Kovacs were out in force to secure sixth.

Fisher passed Dontas early in the piece but “The Growler” found his chance in the fourth lap to take his spot back when he made a brave pass through the high speed Turn 8 sweeper assuring him a sixth place finish.

The battle didn’t end there with Kurt Wimmer and Stephen Robinson pushing themselves through the field to contend with Kovacs for seventh. Every Ute that started the race - finished the race, which is a rare occasion for the V8 Utes at the Clipsal event, due to the tight and demanding nature of the track.

Justin Van Twest in the Capalaba Wreckers FORD slowed on pit straight with a broken Tail Shaft, however still limped to the flag.

Noel Edge and Grant Johnson were absent from race three. Johnson because of his accident yesterday and Edge was unable to fix his Head Gasket.

Johnson was released from an overnight stay in hospital following yesterday’s high speed 2.5 G hit at the turn 8 sweeper. Heavily bruised and sore, the Western Australian now faces a tough task to rebuild the Grove Fruit Juice Holden before the next round in 5 weeks.

Steve Robinson happy with his 9th spot in Race Three was awarded the Armor All Best Presented Award for his Green and Yellow Tusker Beer and Air Vanuatu Ford BF.

Big Gun Racings, Brad “Packer” Patton won The CI Performance Hole Shot Award for the best race start in Race Two picking up $500 cash,

Reigning Champion, Layton Crambrook didn’t have the best start to the season with DNF’s in Race One and Two. He made up for it in race three and showed off his championship winning skill passing 21 Utes putting him into 10th position from his 31st start and securing him the SS Inductions Hard Charger for the most amount of utes passed in one race .

Paul Williams leads the The Racer Industries “Rookie of the Year” pointscore from Gary Carson and Jason Gomersall.

Check out the round all over again on the Seven Network, Saturday, 11th April at 1:30pm. 

The top ten results for Race Three are as follows:

 Car #/  Driver/ Team/  Time 58  Ryal Harris  Sage Automation/NHP Electric  1:38.92 3  Gary Baxter  Global Trading Schools  1:38.85 27 Kim Jane  Bob Jane T-Marts/Trading Post    1:38.47 11 Jack Elsegood  Coopers Pale Ale   1:38.67 7 George Miedecke  Country Energy/Lubrimaxx  1:38.28 45  Craig Dontas  Thirsty Camel Racing  1:39.80 69  Charlie Kovacs  RED Racing/ RED Express Delivery  1:40.43 32  Kurt Wimmer  Wilson Brothers Racing  1:39.48 2  Stephen Robinson  Tusker Beer/Air Vanuatu  1:39.91 1  Layton Crambrook  Maxibon Racing  1:39.34

The top ten results for Round One are as follows:

 Car # Driver TeamPoints3 Gary Baxter  Sage Automation/NHP Electric  13258 Ryal Harris Global Trading Schools  12427 Kim Jane Bob Jane T-Marts/Trading Post    1167 George Miedecke Country Energy/Lubrimaxx 112 11 Jack Elsegood Coopers Pale Ale   11245 Craig Dontas Thirsty Camel Racing 101 9 Andrew Fisher Jesus All About Life   9969 Charlie Kovacs Red Racing/Red Express Deliveries 9612 Glenn McNally West Coast Racing/NRW Holdings 892 Stephen Robinson Tusker Beer/Air Vanuatu 87

Related Motorsport Articles

84,681 articles