Bikes: Entries for TT 2009 now closed

as races oversubscribed - Riders from 20 different countries to line up on Glencrutchery Road for TT 2009

Registrations have now closed for the 2009 TT Races and numbers are up on the 2008 levels with all the main solo classes oversubscribed. Each of the five solo races has a complete grid of 80 riders with further reserves in place.

There will be riders from 20 different countries competing at TT 2009. As expected England has the most representatives with 77 riders entered across the Solo and Sidecar classes, while Northern Ireland and the Isle of Man have the second highest number with 12 each, followed by Scotland with 9 and the Republic of Ireland with 6. Wales, led by 7 time winner Ian Lougher who will be competing in his 100th TT race during the fortnight, have five riders. 

There are 21riders from European countries with Italy leading the way with 6 participants.  France contributes 5 riders, followed by 4 from Germany and 2 Spanish competitors.   Hungary, Czech Republic, Belgium, Austria and Sweden each have one representative.

The growing popularity of the TT races in the USA is reflected in the fact that there will be six American riders on the Isle of Man this year. Mark Miller is their fastest rider with a lap record of 121.756mph. Former AMA Superstock Champion Jimmy Moore, who is the 2nd fastest American, will be out to challenge the US lap record.

Three Australians and two Kiwi racers will feature this year. The Antipodean challenge will be led by double 08 race winner, Australian Cameron Donald and Kiwi Bruce Anstey. Team Blackhorse Motorcycle Finance field Japanese rider Yoshinari Matsushita and Argentina’s David Parades complete the international line up.

The success of the TT’s recent promotion and recruitment means that 13 teams from British Championships will temporarily suspend their UK based ambitions. 

The continuing global appeal of the TT will see 2 teams from the FIM World Endurance Championship, 4 previous Macau GP winners and 20 solo newcomers with experience in British Superbike, Superstock and Supersport Championships, Macau GP, World Supersport, AMA Superbike and Irish, Scottish, Czech Republic, Italian and Japanese Championships.

Thirteen former Manx Grand Prix winners will be appearing in the TT, with triple champion Manxman Dan Kneen eager to prove his mettle after his record breaking feats at the 2008 MGP.

The Solo field includes 9 former champions, with a total of 41 wins between them, lead by 14 time race winner John McGuinness. Other previous winners competing on the Mountain Circuit in 2009 include Bruce Anstey, Cameron Donald, Steve Plater, Ian Lougher, Ryan Farquhar, Chris Palmer, Adrian Archibald, Michael Rutter and Ian Hutchinson. The lap record holders from all five classes will also be returning to improve their times. In total 40 riders who have lapped faster than 120+mph will be reappearing in 2009.

There are 53 crews lining up for the 2009 Sure Mobile Sidecar Races including 12 sidecar drivers who have already recorded laps of 110mph+ on the Mountain Course. The sidecars have three former sidecar winners in Dave Molyneux, Nick Crowe and Roy Hanks, who have a total of 19 TT victories between them. The 2009 TT Races will see 2 former FIM World Sidecar Champions in Klaus Klaffenböck and Tim Reeves eager to add their names to the roll of honour. The Birchall brothers, Ben and Tom, who achieved their first world championship race win at Rijeka, Croatia in 2008, will be making their TT debuts.

Hon Martyn Quayle MHK, Minister for Tourism and Leisure commented:

“This reflects upon some great work by the TT Festival and Motorsport Arrangements Group and the TT Rider Liaison Officers who have worked really hard throughout the winter months on scouting and recruiting riders to compete. It’s also proof of the TT’s enduring popularity that even in tough economic times the TT is able to attract an international field of such high quality teams and riders.”

Entries have also closed for the 2009 Billown TT Races with large fields entered in both the 125cc Ultra Lightweight and 250cc Lightweight Races

Related Motorsport Articles

84,546 articles