First Win For Peter, Broniszewski and Kessel Racing in GT Open at Monza

Perfect race for the yellow Ferrari 458Frezza-López (Vittoria) 2nd and Rangoni-Gazrofano (AF) 3rdAyari (8th) keeps a 3-point lead over Montermini-Moncini (4th)The Autorlando Porsche of Roda-Ruberti wins in GTS

At last! The duo Philipp Peter-Michal Broniszewski and the Kessel Racing took their maiden scratch win in Race 1 in Monza. The Austrian and the Pole this time did not have any problem and after dominating practice and qualifying, brought their yellow Ferrari 458 to a flag-to-flag victory.

The 2009 GTS Champions beated Marco Frezza-Cochito Lopez, excellent second in the Vittoria F430 and Luca Rangoni- Alessandro Garofano (AF Corse), in their first race at the wheel of the 458.

With Ayari-Camathias 8th and Ramos-Giammaria out of the race, it was not a particular good day for the leaders in the points standings, but the Frenchman of JMB Racing is still 3 points ahead of Montermini-Moncini (Villorba), today 4th.

In GTS, Gianluca Roda, associated exceptionally to Paolo Ruberti, brought the Autorlando Porsche 911 R to a well-deserved win, ahead of the Ferraris of his direct rivals, Bontempelli-Gattuso (Kessel) and the  Sports&You Mercedes SLS of De Nicola-Puglisi.

At the start, poleman Peter flies away ; behind him, there is intense fight between Moncini, Barba and Ayari, with the French taking the advantage in lap 2, then Gattuso, Giammaria and Lopez, with the last two getting passed by a Roda in great shape.

The Aston of Wiser stops in lap 3, while Sdanewitsch and Bamford collide in lap 11, with the Ford forced to the pits. When the driver change window opens, Peter has 7 seconds of advantage ahead of Ayari, Barba and Moncini, with Gattuso, Roda and Giammaria in close fight for fifth. In lap 19, Peter (still at the wheel) laps Montermini, who took over from Moncini after a long handicap (30”, as Ayari- Camathias). As Montermini locks wheels and goes straight in lap22, Broniszewski takes over the leading car with 11 seconds of advantage on Ceccato.

Third is Frezza, then Ramos (who goes wide at the Parabolica on lap 25 and pits to change a tyre), Camathias, Rangoni, Montermini, Talkanitsa, then Ruberti and Bontempelli, leaders in GTS and separate by 3 seconds only. In lap 28 and 29, Camathias seems in trouble, he is passed by Rangoni and Cadei (after two contacts) and then alsoMontermini.In the final laps, while Broniszewski maintains the advantage stable, Ceccato is catched and passed by Frezza, while Montermini passes Rangoni for fourth and closes upon Ceccato. In the final duel between the two, they both spin at the first chicane in the penultimate lap, which gives third to Rangoni.

Overall: 1. Ayari, 149; 2. Montermini-Moncini, 146; 3. Ramos, 141; 4. Frezza-López, 140; 5.Bontempelli-Gattuso, 138

GTS: 1. Gattuso-Bontempelli, 92 p.; 2. Roda, 87; 3. Babini, 77; 4. Bizzarri, 66; 4. Rizzoli, 62Team Super GT: 1. JMB Racing, 66 p.; 2. Villorba corsa, 65; 3. Edil Cris RT, 64; 4. VittoriaCompetizioni, 64; 5. Kessel Racing, 43Team GTS: 1. Kessel Racing, 108 p.; 2. Autorlando Sport, 87; 3. AF Corse, 79; 4. RaceteamDeboeuf, 35; 5. Villois Racing, 33