McConville Bundys On for first V8 Ute Win‏

Cameron McConville claimed his first V8 Ute victory at Sandown Raceway Victoria , whilst David Sieders took out the Armor All Pole Award today (Saturday, 19th November) for Round 7 of the Auto One V8 Ute Racing Series - protected by Armor All.Sieders put in a great effort on a wet track in the Qualifying session, which was red flagged twice.The Australian Industrial Supplies driver was lucky when the red flag went down the final time as newcomer and Queensland saloon car driver Kris Walton was on track to better Sieders time by 3 tenths of a second, however couldn't complete the lap due to the red flag conditions."Yeah we were lucky we put in a good time early as we were having a few issues with the car. I was a bit worried when I heard what Kris had done but was really excited when I saw the red flag drop and just hoped it was in time. We're happy with the result, it's our third for the year putting us on par with Ryal (Harris)," he said,

McConville qualified second, 1/10th off Sieders, from Jane, Fisher Harris, Rhys McNally, then series leader Chris Pither.

Sydney's Warren Millet had his best qualifying session for the season, starting 14th despite missing both practice sessions due to business commitments in Sydney.Nathan Pretty missed the cut for Race 1 in the Monster Energy Holden, due to engine issues following qualifying, which has now dropped him from contention in the ENZED Driver's Championship. He will start from the back of the grid for Race 2.Sieders Ford started alongside McConville in his Bundaberg Racings Holden on the front-row for Race 1. McConville was quick off the line and gained an early lead, which he held onto for the whole race taking the win by four seconds.

"It's nice to crack a win. It's been too long. The car has been quick in the wet and I'm just wrapped to take home a win for the Bundaberg team who've spent a lot of hours prepping the Ute," said McConville.Kim Jane walked away with a second ahead of Rhys McNally in third. The two had a great battle for the spot. The Perth young gun moved from his sixth position start into third and passed Jane on lap 3 behind Andrew Fisher who was in second. The three tussled for the prize spot with Jane coming off the victor after McNally made a massive move which saw him bounce off the track into the mud pit and then back onto the track in front of Jane. It wasn't enough though and Jane took him following the incident on lap 4.

The safety car was called mid race, after Brisbane driver Peter Burnitt beached the CNW Electrical Ford in the sand at Turn 1.After the re-start, Series challengers Ryal Harris and Chris Pither took Fisher on the second last lap, however Harris flew off into the mud at turn 11, forcing Pither sideways in front of Fisher and Johnson, allowing Sieders to move through into fourth. He was soon caught by Harris and Johnson who claimed fourth and fifth respectively while Sieders fell back to sixth.

Ice Break Racing's Pither came home in seventh, ahead of newcomer Danny Buzadzic, who put in a great result and walked away with eighth for the race in his Western General Body Works Ford. Fisher held on to ninth ahead of Jack Elsegood in tenth.

Nandi Kiss posted one of his best results for the year in 12th and will start on the second row for the top 14 reverse grid race tomorrow. Craig Dontas will start on Pole in his Thirsty Camel backed Holden alongside Rookie Sean Carter who will have his debut on the front row.

"I'm very happy obviously it's nice to get a bit of reward after all the hard work the boys have put in for the weekend (changing an engine after practice). It should save our weekend actually. It will be nice to get a result for the Thirsty Camel home crowd," said Dontas.

Ryan Hansford was unlucky not to finish the race after a throttle issue on the second last lap of the race when he was in eighth. He will start on the back-row tomorrow when the V8 Utes once again kick off the day at Sandown Raceway at 9:05am followed by Race 3 at 12:05pm, which will decide the winner of the penultimate round.

Top ten results from Qualifying

1 8 Australia Industrial Supplies Racing David Sieders Ford Falcon XR8 BF 1:34.44 2 61 Bundaberg Racing Cameron McConville Holden SS VE 1:34.89 3 27 Bob Jane T-Marts Kim Jane Holden SS VE 1:34.92 4 9 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher Ford Falcon XR8 BF 1:34.92 5 58 VIP Petfoods Ryal Harris Ford Falcon XR8 BF 1:35.19 6 26 STRATCO Racing Rhys McNally Holden SS VE 1:35.57 7 6 Truckline Racing Ryan Hansford Ford Falcon XR8 BF 1:35.83 8 42 Ice Break Racing Chris Pither Holden SS VE 1:35.94 9 1 Hi-Tech Motor Sport Grant Johnson Holden SS VE 1:36.04 10 56 Monster Energy Nathan Pretty Holden SS VE 1:36.08

Top ten results from Race 1.

1 61 Bundaberg Racing Cameron McConville Holden SS VE 1:35.51* 2 27 Bob Jane T-Marts Kim Jane Holden SS VE 1:36.427 3 26 STRATCO Racing Rhys McNally Holden SS VE 1:37.03 4 58 VIP Petfoods Ryal Harris Ford Falcon XR8 BF 1:37.31 5 1 Hi-Tech Motor Sport Grant Johnson Holden SS VE 1:37.50 6 8 Australian Industrial Supplies David Sieders Ford Falcon XR8 BF 1:37.19 7 42 Ice Break Racing Chris Pither Holden SS VE 1:38.35 8 72 Western General Body Works Danny Buzadzic Ford Falcon XR8 BF 1:37.57 9 9 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher Ford Falcon XR8 BF 1:36.88 10 11 Coopers Clear Racing Jack Elsegood Ford Falcon XR8 BF 1:38.82

Top five results for the ENZED drivers championship1 Chris Pither 779 2 Ryal Harris 767 3 David Sieders 740 4 Grant Johnson 715 5 Nathan Pretty 687

Related Motorsport Articles

84,681 articles