V8 Utes Clipsal 500 Fast Facts

About the Track: The Adelaide Parklands, Clipsal 500 track is 3.22km. The track runs in a clockwise direction The average speed of a V8 Ute around the track is: 116kph. Between turn 8 and 9 V8 Utes are likely to get up to and over 170kph. Over the past 11 years the V8 Utes have completed 205 laps around Adelaide Parklands and a total of 660.10km. 

1) This is the 12th year the V8 Utes have competed at the Adelaide Parklands track. The first in 2001 (the V8 Utes Inaugural year). In 2010 the Series celebrated its 10th appearance at the Clipsal 500 and held a "Ten Years of Legends" feature race.  The race consisted of a two driver format with each round driver partnering with a legend; some included: V8 Supercar drivers Cameron McConville, Paul Morris, Steve Owen, Tony Longhurst, world record setting stunt riding extraordinaire Robbie Madison and Steven Bradbury - Australia's first ever Winter Olympic Gold Medallist. Sunny Cowgirls played in the V8 Ute Paddock.

2) V8 Utes will celebrate 300 Races at the Clipsal 500 when they take to the track for Race 2 on Saturday, 3 March. This is a significant milestone for the series to celebrate at their inaugural track.

3) Damien "Ice Man" White claimed the first lap record in a V8 Ute in 2001 in a time of 1:46.25; The current record is held by David Sieders, which he set in 2011 in Race 3 in a time of 1:37.1961.

4) Four legends from the "Ten Years of Legends' Race will be driving at the Clipsal 500 this year, they include: Chris Pither, Cameron McConville, Grant Bromley and Charlie Kovacs Jnr. Pither picked up a full-time driver from the event in 2010 and placed fourth overall that year. Last year he went on to win the Series.

5) David "Sideways" Sieders may be the first driver to claim the Clipsal 500 three times in a row. Sieders first won on debut in 2010, claiming both the round and the Armor All Pole Award, he backed up last year taking out the double again.

He'll be chasing local Gary Baxter and Grant Johnson who are both sitting on two titles at the Clipsal 500.

6) Damien White has been on podium the most amount of times - five out of the six years he raced the V8 Utes.  Ford has only won four times at Clipsal compared to Holden who have won seven.

7) Ten out of the 32 driver line-up have former V8 Supercar experience including:  Cameron McConville, Nathan Pretty, Gary Baxter, Grant Johnson, Andrew Fisher, Ryan Hansford, Chris Pither, David Sieders, Warren Luff and Kim Jane.

8) South Australian locals include Thirsty Camel Racings, Craig "Thirsty" Dontas and Twin Brother Troy "Hungry" Dontas, Stunt driver, Gary "Chuckie" Baxter and Ford driver, Noel "Sledge" Edge.

9) New drivers to the 2011 Series include; Gerard "Maverick" McLeod Son of  1987 Bathurst winner Peter, Travis Sharpe in the Wanda Paint backed Holden, Local Troy Dontas, Phonsy Mullan owner of Series partner Ripshift, West Aussie Steve Charman and Queenslander Grant Bromley.  Charlie Kovacs Jnr, son of the infamous "Handlebars" will also drive on the weekend.

10) 25 out of the 32 strong V8 Ute field have raced a V8 Ute at Clipsal before.

Please find below the full Round 1 V8 Ute schedule: Thursday, 1 March     Practice 1    8:30amThursday, 1 March     Practice 2    1:05pmThursday, 1 March     Qualifying     5:30pmFriday, 2 March         Race 1         5:25pmSaturday, 3 March     Race 2        12:10pmSunday, 4 March       Race 3        11:50am

The V8 Utes point system: has been modified for 2012. The new system will award the top three place getters with bonus points. First place will receive 35 points, second place 33 points, third place 31 points and fourth place 29 points; it then reduces one point for every position to 32nd place.

The determination of the Grids will be the same as 2011. Race 1 Grid is determined by Qualifying. Race 2 grid is determined by a random ballot drawn by the Race 1 winner.  The number that is drawn is the number of Utes that will be reversed on the grid for that race. The Grid for Race 3 will not include the points achieved in Qualifying but will be determined by the combined points earned in Race 1 and Race 2 only.

2012 V8 Ute Entry List - click here <http://login.ireach.com.au/ch/16769/2d7pq2h/1626364/cc7e9w1wy.pdf>  to download2012 V8 Ute Clipsal 500 driver statistics - click here <http://login.ireach.com.au/ch/16769/2d7pq2h/1626365/cc7e914h7x.pdf>  to download

Past winners of the Clipsal 500 V8 Ute Events 2011 David "Sideways" Sieders (Ford BF)  2010 David "Sideways" Sieders  (Ford BF) 2009 Gary "Chuckie" Baxter (Holden VE) 2008 Grant "Grunta" Johnson (Holden VE) 2007 Jack "The Hustler" Elsegood  (Ford BF) 2006 Grant "Grunta" Johnson (Holden VY) 2005 Marcus "Mayhem" Zukanovic (Ford AU) 2004 Charlie "Handlebars" Kovacs  (Holden VY) 2003 Gary "Chuckie" Baxter  (Holden VU) 2002 Warren "Rockdog" Luff (Holden VU) 2001 Gary "Macca" MacDonald  (Holden VU)

 Podium Finishes: 2011 1. David "Sideways" Siders 2. Ryal "The Kid" Harris 3. Chris "Gypsy" Pither

2010 "Ten Years of Legends Event"    1. Jeremy "Shades of" Gray & NASCAR legend George "Slick" Miedecke    2. Andrew "Fishtail" Fisher & Rally Legend Rick "The Disciple" Bates    3. David "Sideways" Sieders & FPV Legend Rod "Rocket" Barrett

2010 1. David "Sideways" Sieders 2. Andrew "Fishtail" Fisher 3. Jack "The Hustler" Elsegood

 2009 1. Gary "Chuckie" Baxter  2. Ryal "The Kid" Harris  3. Kim "The Assassin" Jane

20081. Grant "Grunta Johnson 2. Layton "Leadfoot" Crambrook3. George "Slick" Miedecke

2007 1. Jack "The Hustler" Elsegood 2. Grant "Grunta" Johnson 3. Darren "Chicken" Palmer

2006 1. Grant "Grunta" Johnson 2. Damien "Ice" White 3. Kerry "Sand Gropper" Wade

 2005 1.Marcus "Mayhem" Zukanovic 2. Damien "Ice" White3. Kerry "Sand Gropper" Wade

2004 1.Charlie "Handlebars" Kovacs 2. David "Schmacko" Griffin 3. Gary "Chuckie"  Baxter

2003 1.Gary "Chuckie" Baxter 2.Damien "Ice" White 3. Charlie "Handlebars" Kovacs

2002 1. Warren "Rock Dog" Luff 2. Mick "The Don" Donaher 3. Damien "Ice" White

2001 1. Gary "Macca" MacDonald 2. Gary "Growler" Young 3. Damien "Ice" White

Related Motorsport Articles

83,727 articles