International GT Sprint countdown has started

There are less than 25 days to go before the start of the 2012 INTERNATIONAL GTSPRINT SERIES.  During the first weekend of April, the FG GROUP-promoted championship will enter its third season with the goal of repeating the successful runs experienced so far. Once again, the World’s best Grand Touring cars will be running for glory at Monza. The extremely fast Italian circuit is set to host the championship’s collective test on Thursday, March the 15th.

The GTSPRINT challenge will be available to fans also thanks to a wide TV offer. As a tradition of the INTERNATIONAL GTSPRINT SERIES, a lot of countries will be involved, more than 175, with live coverage in 35 countries. The series will hit all the best racetracks of Europe, as Monza will be followed by Imola (April 21/22), Mugello (June 2/3), the Hungaroring (a sensational new addition for 2012 taking place on June 29/July 1), Spa-Francorchamps (July 14/15), Portimão (September 15/16) and Vallelunga (October 6/7).

Live TV coverage has been confirmed in Italy on RAI SPORT 2, as the National TV network will follow the championship’s 7 events of 2012. The races at Monza will be televised on Sunday, April the 1st. The start of Race 1 will be at 9:00 AM CET, followed by an "as live" Race 2 broadcast at 3.00 PM CET.

The series’ categories will be revamped in an effort to provide more action and excitement. The INTERNATIONAL GTSPRINT SERIES title, featuring drivers from GTS2 and GTS3, will be paired by the INTERNATIONAL GTS CUP TROPHY, open to cars coming from the best single-make championships. Cars from the new GTS OPEN CLASS will also be on-track.

Another important aspect is the arrival of new spec supplier Hankook Tire (the same of the SUPERSTARS SERIES) as well as the new compensation weight system. The two top-cars of each class, based on the earlier event’s race 1 and 2 results, will get more ballast added to their base weight.

A freshly-updated look is set to bring even more excitement to the INTERNATIONAL GTSPRINT SERIES as the championship is entering its third season. Who will be the next Champion after the Italian-Venezuelan combo of Giuseppe Cirò and Gaetano Ardagna Perez took the 2011 title honors at the end of a 6-way battle? With just a few weeks to go, the temple of speed will provide its first answers at Monza.

Related Motorsport Articles

82,564 articles