V8 Utes at Barbagallo Raceway

About the trackDistance: 2.43kmDirection:  ClockwiseTurns: 7Top Speed in a V8 Ute: 220 kph Circuit Description: Tough and tight, the Barbagallo circuit was resurfaced a few years ago and initially gave very good grip. However, as the years have ticked by, the surface remains a difficult one for drivers and engineers alike. Passing opportunities are generally limited to turns six and seven under brakes. (Ref: V8 Supercars, Trading Post Perth Challenge, Fast Facts)

1)    This is only the third time the V8 Utes have raced at Barbagallo Raceway in Perth in their 12 year history. The first time was in 2008 and second in 2011.

2)    Local Grant Johnson holds the lap record at Barbagallo Raceway set in Race 3, 2008 in a time of 1.07.82. Reigning V8 Ute Champion Chris Pither is the only other driver to go under a 1:07 and missed Johnson's record by less than two tenths of a second last year.

3)    There are eight local drivers competing at Round 3 including; Grant “Grunta” Johnson, Brothers Jake, Rhys and Glenn McNally, Todd Zani, Rick “Mudguard” Gill, Rookie Travis Sharpe, Adam Marjoram and Paul Williams.

Western Australia has produced a two-time V8 Ute Champion (2007 & 2010) Grant Johnson, 2008 Rookie of the Year Glenn McNally and 2009 Rookie of the Year Paul Williams.

4)    This is the first time ever in the V8 Utes history that three brothers will race against each other. Brother Glenn, will battle it out against younger brothers Rhys and Jake McNally for the first time in the Series. Rhys and Jake are now Series regulars and followed in Brother Glenn’s footsteps, winner of the 2008 Rookie of the Year Title. Brother Mark also races and used to compete in the V8 Supercar Development Series.

5)    Changes to the field include; 2009 V8 Ute Rookie of the Year Paul Williams who will step back into the seat after a year and a half absence. 

Tarmac Rally driver Todd Zani will be driving James Brocks Holden VE backed by Ezeatm.  Zani drove a HSV Maloo in the Tarmac Rallies for six years in Australia and New Zealand.

Rick Gill will drive the Big Gun Racing Ford FG and will make a return to the series for the first time since, Townsville 2011.

6)    Grant Johnson is the most successful driver in the V8 Utes at Barbagallo Raceway having won the round every time he has raced at the event; 3 out of the 6 races at the event, won the Armor All Pole Award once and also holds the lap record.

7)    Jesse Dixon will drive in his second round as the Chris Pither – powered by Ice Break Scholarship Driver. Dixon came 12th on debut in Tasmania and is driving the 2011 Championship winning V8 Ute.

8)    More than half the field (21 in fact) have raced in a V8 Ute before at Barbagallo Raceway including: Andrew Fisher, Ben Dunn, Ben Kavich, Craig Dontas, Gary “Chucky” Baxter, Grant Johnson, Jack Elsegood, Kim Jane, Peter Burnitt, Ryal Harris, Warren “Wakeup” Millet, David Sieders, Nathan Pretty, Ryan Hansford, Rick Gill, Noel Edge, Andrew Fisher, Rhys, Jake and Glenn McNally and Bundaberg Racing’s Cameron McConville.

Drivers competing in a V8 Ute for the first time at Barbagallo Raceway include: Paul Williams, Kris Walton, Travis Sharpe, Adam Marjoram, Jesse Dixon, Phonsy Mullan, Todd Zani, Gerard McLeod, Danny Buzadzic and Hayley Swanson.

Swanson is one of four women to compete in the V8 Ute Racing Series and the part-time model is looking to continue for the year in the Bay Point Development backed Holden.

9)    The Auto One Wildcard driver for this round is local Adam Marjoram. Marjoram is the first development driver to drive the car, V8 Supercar driver Marcus Marshall drove the Wildcard Ute at Perth last year and other drivers in the car include: Greg Crick (Symmons Plains 2012) and Warren Luff  (Clipsal 500 2012) other drivers include; Charlie O’Brien (Clipsal 500 2011), Tim Blanchard (Darwin 2011), Dean Canto (Townsville 2011), Marcus Zukanovic (Bathurst 2011), David Besnard (Gold Coast 2011), Tony Longhurst (Sandown 2011), Adam Macrow (Sydney 2011).

10)    Monster Energy Drink’s, Nathan Pretty is currently leading the ENZED Drivers Championship only one point ahead of Queenslander and Rookie Kris Walton. This will be Walton’s first time in a V8 Ute at Barbagallo and Pretty’s second. Pretty claimed third at the event last year and after taking out the last Round is confident his Holden will be fast around the track.

11)    This is the first time the Ford FG will compete at Barbagallo Raceway. There will be 13 FG’s on-track with only 3 Fords remaining as BF’s. All Fords entrants are required to move to the FG model by the end of August this year.

Ford has only won one race at Barbagallo Raceway, which was won by Ryal Harris last year.

Past Winners: 2011 Round Winners1) Grant “Grunta” Johnson2) Chris “Crispy” Pither3) Nathan “Nitro” Pretty

2011 Race WinnersQualifying: Cameron "Conkers" McConville – 1:06.8814Race 1: Chris PitherRace 2: Ryal HarrisRace 3: Grant Johnson

2008 Round Winners1) Grant “Grunta” Johnson     2) Kim “The Assassin” Jane 3) Ryal “The Kid” Harris

2008 Race winners Qualifying: Grant Johnson – 1:13.7195Race 1: Grant “Grunta” JohnsonRace 2: Kim “The Assassin” JaneRace 3: Grant “Grunta” Johnson

Click here to download Driver Statistics

Click here to download V8 Ute Entry List for Round 3

V8 Utes Racing Schedule for Trading Post Perth Challenge:Friday, 4 May         Practice 1    8:55amFriday, 4 May         Practice 2    2:00pmSaturday, 5 May     Qualifying     9:40amSaturday, 5 May     Race 1         1:15pmSunday, 6 May       Race 2         8:50amSunday, 7 May       Race 3         3:50pm

Race 1 will be televised live as on Network Seven on Saturday, 5 May in the Raceday Xtra broadcast

On-track Driver Appearances: SATURDAY, 5TH MAYSigning Session (on-track) Time: 11am – 11:20amVenue: V8 Ute Paddock

SUNDAY, 6TH MAYSigning Session (on-track) Time: 12:20pm – 12:40pmVenue: V8 Ute Paddock

Podium Time: 4:10pmVenue: V8 Ute Paddock

Related Motorsport Articles

84,615 articles