Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS back on track


Thirty cars are expected on the narrow streets of the French city track of Pau. Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS is about to start its second round - out of the seven double venues - of the season which started at the end of March in Monza. It will be the upcoming weekend (from the 11th till the 13th of May) the one for the new round of the 2 liter singleseater.

After having scored a double in Monza, all spotlights are on Daniil Kvyat (born in ’94). The young Red Bull Junior Team Russian driver, racing with the Finnish Koiranen Motorsport team colors, will aim at defending his leadership. Watch out also for the French Tech1 Racing Paul-Loup Chatin, second at 19 points, and capable last year in the same Pau venue to score a third and a second overall.

Home race also for the other Frenchman (RC Formula), third overall after having showed consistence with his fifth and fourth place in Monza. On the rookies side focus on William Vermont, racing for Arta Engineering, already capable of podium. In Pau, with the same team, there will be the debut of another French: the 18 y/o Paul Petit.

Among those which showed their skills in the first venue of the season, need also to be pointed out the Brazilian Guilherme Silva ( and the Colombian Oscar Tunjo, driver part of the iRace Professional project connected with Lotus F1 Team, looking forward his first podium.

The Italian squadron is led by Simone Iaquinta, soon at ease with Team Torino Motorsport, and sixth in Monza Race 1. However on a street circuit as the Pau one with plenty of challenges, surprises are as well awaited.

First response will come from the Friday free practices, scheduled starting from 16.35. On Saturday morning, from 10.55 till 11.40 the single qualifying session. In the afternoon at 18.35 the Race 1 green light /25 minutes plus an extra lap). Sunday, at 10.15 Race 2 which will last exactly as the previous.

Championship (top-10): 1. Daniil Kvyat RUS (Koiranen Motorsport) 53; 2. Paul-Loup Chatin FRA (Tech1 Racing) 34; 3. Norman Nato FRA (RC Formula) 22; 4. Melville McKee GBR ( 18; 5. William Vermon FRA (Arta Engineering) 15; 6. Esteban Ocon FRA, Giulherme Silva BRA ( 14; 8. Oscar Tunjo COL (Tech1 Racing) 12; 9. Simone Iaquinta ITA (Team Torino Motorsport) 8; 10. Roman Mavlanov RUS (Tech1 Racing) 6.

Related Motorsport Articles

82,840 articles