Edgar's Hyundai MSA British Short Circuit Kart Championship

Round 2: Whilton Mill, 12-13 May

Two dominant wins at Whilton Mill propelled Ben Barnicoat to the top of the standings, despite starting last in the first final after breaking a chain during a heat.

Barnicoat stormed through the pack during the first race, closing down and passing Mark Litchfield for the lead and ultimately the victory. Ricky Collard completed the podium.

Barnicoat then made a great start in the second final and romped to another win, this time ahead of Zubair Hoque and Jack Barlow. Litchfield initially gave chase to Barnicoat but retired with engine problems.

Results – Final 11 Ben Barnicoat (ART) 22 laps in 16m05.23s (56.98mph)2 Mark Litchfield (Birel) +01.51s3 Ricky Collard (ART) +2.17s

Final 21 Barnicoat 22 laps in 16m01.85s (57.18mph)2 Zubair Hoque (Alonso) +07.25s3 Jack Barlow (Intrepid) +7.49s

Championship positions (provisional) after Round 21 Ben Barnicoat – 196 points2 Mark Litchfield – 1873 Jack Barlow – 1804 Ricky Collard – 1745 Alex Hamilton – 172

Related Motorsport Articles

84,611 articles