Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS


Two wins for the Frenchman Norman Nato on the Imola track. After having set his second pole of the season and ruled in Race 1, the 19 y/o RC Formula just won his third race of the Season (two weeks ago he won also con the challenging Pau street track) seizing race 2 and confirming as the new Championship leader overcoming another French driver Paul-Loup Chatin (Tech1 Racing).

For the latter, third in yesterday race, the weekend ended with a retire after a contact at the Tamburello with the Russian Daniil Kvyat, the undisputed ruler of the first venue in Monza and fourth in the Imola Race 1. William Vermont, also showed up being twice second under the chequered flag, this time just ahead of the German Red Bull Junior Team Stefan Wackerbauer.

Positive impressions for the 15 y/o Esteban Ocon, capable of keeping behind the Italian Simone Iaquinta, once more the best local driver racing for Team Torino Motorsport (that also enjoyed ninth overall of Mexican Luis Michael Dörrbecker), who finished ahead of the young British driver Alex Albon, the Brazilian Guilherme Silva and the driver from Andorra Alex Loan. First point for Stefano De Val, improving steadily and tenth in Race 2.

«It was a perfect weekend, with pole and wins in both races. - commented Norman Nato - There is still a long way to go for the Championship and this year my competitors are very strong. I’m already focussed on the next venue in Spa-Francorchamps, where we’ll do our best to copy what have been done in Imola».

Now Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS will head towards the famous Belgian track that will host, on the 23rd and 24th of June, the fourth double venue out of the Season’s seven.

Race 1 (top five): 1. Norman Nato FRA (RC Formula) 16 giri, 28’07”546; 2. William Vermont FRA (Arta Engineering) 3”764; 3. Paul-Loup Chatin (Tech1 Racing) 4”571; 4. Daniil Kvyat (Koiranen Motorsport) 7”155; 5. Oscar Tunjo (Tech1 Racing) 9”152.

Race 2 (top five): 1. Norman Nato FRA (RC Formula) 16 giri, 28’05”249; 2. William Vermont (Arta Engineering) 9”989; 3. Stefan Wackerbauer (Koiranen Motorsport) 10”982; 4. Esteban Ocon (Koiranen Motorsport) 18”665; 5. Simone Iaquinta (Team Torino Motorsport) 19”29.

The Championship after 6 races (top-10): 1. Norman Nato 122; 2. Paul-Loup Chatin 94; 3. Daniil Kvyat 71; 4. William Vermont 63; 5. Esteban Ocon 32; 6. Matthieu Vaxiviere 27; 7. Simone Iaquinta, Melville McKee, Guilherme Silva 26; 10. Oscar Tunjo 22.

Related Motorsport Articles

84,611 articles