Andrea Montermini becomes the record man for wins in GT Open

‏Dominating race-2 at Nurburgring with the aabar Abu Dhabi Villorba racing with Ferrari Team the fast Italian driver scored his 14th overall victory in the international series by GT Sport

Treviso (Italy), May 31, 2012. Last Sunday the first 2012 victory of the aabar Abu Dhabi Villorba racing with Ferrari Team has given Andrea Montermini the record for wins in the International GT Open. With the dominant success collected at the Nurburgring alongside Juan Manuel Lopez behind the wheel of the Ferrari 458 GT2 the fast Italian driver scored his 14th overall win in the highly competitive series organized by the GT Sport of Jesus Pareja.

Montermini is the GT Open 2007 class GTA champion and 2008 overall champion. After the Italian GT Championship grabbed in 2010, the former F.1 driver and test driver from Modena was back in the GT Open last season. Scoring a total of three victories he had already reached the current record in 2011 which he shared with the Austrian driver Richard Lietz. With the fourth win for aabar Abu Dhabi Villorba Andrea now is the lone record holder of this special ranking, reaching the top of it with Ferrari just a few weeks after being awarded for his 20 years of racing with the Prancing Horse.

“Montermini - said Raimondo Amadio, Team Principal - is definitely one of the top Italian GT drivers today. We always knew that and when our cooperation started in 2010 everything was set for a long term relationship. I hope it will bring us many more and well deserved successes.”

Andrea Montermini: “I am honored of this record. Actually, for me it was a surprise when they told me. While I drive the race car I only think about doing well in the race and bringing a useful result to the team. I am gratified also to have the record for wins in a championship of such a high level. That can only give an additional positive energy to our season.”

For the Italian squad and Montermini-Lopez the next round of the 2012 International GT Open is to be held in Spa, Belgium, on the weekend of June 24.

Related Motorsport Articles

84,627 articles