Carryduff Forklift MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship

 Round 5: Modern Tyre Service Mourne Rally, 9 June

Drew Stewart closed the gap to championship leader Derek McGarrity with victory on the Mourne Rally aboard his Mk2 Ford Escort.

The lead swung between Stewart and Andrew Mullan early on, with the pair tied atop the leader board after the third loop of stages. However, Stewart then broke away to claim the win by 12 seconds from Mullan.

David Armstrong was third, seven seconds behind, with Alistair Cochrane 23 seconds further back in fourth. Derek McGeehan was fifth, with Fintan McGrady completing the top six.

Results1 Drew Stewart / David White (Ford Escort Mk2) 49m18s 2 Andrew Mullan / Elaine Doherty (Mitsubishi Evo 9) 49m30s 3 David Armstrong / Paul Mulholland (Ford Escort Mk2) 49m37s

Provisional standings after Round 51 Derek McGarrity – 45 points2 Drew Stewart – 363 Derek McGeehan – 274 Kieron Graffin – 225 Trevor Ferguson – 19

Related Motorsport Articles

84,681 articles