Le Mans classic - 109,000 spectators

It's hardly a surprise that this event is growing in stature - what flicks your switch - naturally aspirated screamers without mega aero efficiency or silent oil burners?

RECORD ATTENDANCE: 109 000 SPECTATORS! The 6th Le Mans Classic, which was celebrating its tenth anniversary this year, exceeded all the expectations of the organisers (the ACO and Peter Auto). 96 000 spectators attended the fifth event in 2010, and this year 109 000 people braved the unsettled weather conditions to see the different battles in the 6 Plateaus (some 450 cars), and enjoy the numerous exhibitions and entertainment on hand around the circuit. One of the major attractions of the sixth rendezvous was the 8000 cars from 170 clubs representing 80 makes, which made a big contribution to the overall success of the meeting.

The following deserve a special mention: BMW, which stood out by bringing along historic BMWs including a complete range of the M cars, Renault, whose new Alpine concept car do a few laps of the 13,629-km track, as well as 200 Alpine A110s among the 300 historic Renaults on the spot, and Lotus celebrating the fiftieth anniversary of the Elan. In addition, five clubs represented the mythic AC Cobra. The Clubs Excellence Prize was awarded to the Panhard Federation for its exclusive exhibition celebrating twelve years glorious presence in the Le Mans 24 Hours. Second prize went to the Iso Rivolta Club for the quality of its cars that included the Iso Grifo, the Bizzarini and the Rivolta. The Riley Register in competition with the Bentley Owners Club and the Talbot Owners Club won the third prize. Special prizes were also given to the Historic Lotus Register and the Swallow Doretti Register.

Le Mans Heritage ClubThe Le Mans Heritage Club was a big success with motor sport historians and experts alike, and by majority vote the jury awarded the Prix de lExcellence to the Cadillac Le Monstre designed by Briggs Cunningham in 1950. The FFVE (Fdration Franaise des Vhicules dEpoque) Special Prize went to the Matra MS 670  in homage to the fortieth anniversary of the makes first victory in the Le Mans 24 Hours. This car, which Jean-Luc Lagardre offered to the 24-Hours museum, has never left Le Mans. Jurys Special Prize awarded to the Embricos Bentley.Jurys Special Prize awarded to the Ferrari TR winner of the 1958 Le Mans 24 hours driven by Phil Hill and Olivier Gendebien because of its history.Meguiars Prize went to the Alpine A220 for the quality of its restoration, which took twenty years! Winner Class 1: TractaWinner Class 2: Gordini 18 TSWinner Class 3: Sunbeam AlpineWinner Class 4: Ford GT40 MkIIB (chassis 1047)Winner Class 5: Rondeau M378 (10 Le Mans 24-Hours starts)Winner Class 6: Pescarolo C60 Hybrid (2nd 2006 Le Mans 24 Hours. Drivers: Hlary-Loeb-Montagny.

Artcurial Motorcars AuctionThe Artcurial Motorcars Auction in its second partnership with Le Mans Classic set new records. In 2010, the total sales amounted to 7 million euros. In 2012 the total came to 9 million euros, an increase of 30%! With 88% of the cars sold, 70% of which were bought by foreign collectors, Artcurial Motorcars again confirmed its rise to prominence as one of the main players on the market. The star cars achieved great results including a new world record for a Ferrari 275 from 1966. Estimated at 1 300 000 euros, it went under the hammer for 1 540 000 euros! Among the events and surprisesPeugeot 905 EV 13 (1991): 654 700 eurosPeugeot DarlMat (1938): 321 700 eurosAlfa Romeo Giulia sprint GTA (1965): 128 700 eurosFerrari 365 GTB/4 Daytona Coup (1972): 297 800 eurosFerrari 250 GT Coup barn find (1959): estimated 100 000 euros, sold for 210 900 eurosAsa RB Type 613 1300 GT (1966): 297 800 eurosMercedes 300 SL Roadster (1961): 643 300 eurosMercedes 300 SL Gullwing (1955): 557 500 euros.Simca 1000 Butagaz part of the Tour de France advertising cavalcade in 1962: 23 800 eurosBateau Riva Super Ariston (1974) : 103 600 eurosMesserschmitt KR 200 (1958) : 33 400 eurosThe sale of the Heuliez prototypes was the object of three pre-emptions by the Chtellerault museum and reached the figure of 800 000 euros.

RACE RESULTSPodium (scratch) Plateau 1 (1929-1939)1. C. Traber/B. Trenery Talbot Lago 2h20190442. Bronson/Burnett/Evans Talbot 105 + 108543. DIeteren/Lalmand Alfa Romeo 8C + 114152

Podium (scratch) Plateau 2 (1949/1956)1. G. Pickering Jaguar Type D 2h14539122. Monteverde/Pearson/Smith Jaguar Type D + 513073. Mulder/Simon/Kleissl Mercedes-Benz 300 SL + 441095

Podium (scratch) Plateau 3 (1957/1961)1. Wills/Twyman/Pirro Lotus 15 2h20127122. Fisken/Leventis/Fisken Aston Marton DBR1 + 1583423. V. Gaye Ferrari 250 GT Berlinetta + 618971

Podium (scratch) Plateau 4 (1962/1965)1. L. Voyazides/R. DAbel de Libran Ford GT40 2h19427472. S. Lynn Ford GT40 + 1022043. H. Hugenholtz/D. Hart Ford GT40 + 545020

Podium (scratch) Plateau 5 (1966/1971)1. B. Thuner Lola T70 MKIII 2h17214742. R. Goethe/F. Giroix Porsche 908/3 + 3597383. S. Stepak/F. Bourdin Alpine A220 + 433557

Podium (scratch) Plateau 6 (1972/1979)1. C. Mac Allister Gulf Mirage 2h16058312. Hinderer/Stretton/Hinderer BMW M1 + 1541083. D. Guenat Lola T286-HU7 + 403888

Related Market and Auction Articles

4,957 articles