REIS MSA Asphalt Rally Championship

Round 5: Wilkinson Maintenance Tyneside Stages Rally, 3 August

Peter Taylor and co-driver Andrew Roughead recorded their first win of the season on round five, the Wilkinson Maintenance Tyneside Stages Rally.

The pair finished the Otterburn Military Ranges-based event a handful of seconds ahead of Damian Cole – winner of the past three Tynesides – and his navigator Elliott Edmondson.

The 2010 Tyneside winners, Simon Mauger and Ashley Trimble, completed the podium ahead of championship leaders John Stone and Carl Williamson. Steve Simpson and Patrick Walsh suffered their second consecutive retirement when their Subaru’s clutch failed on the opening stage.

Results1 Peter Taylor / Andrew Roughead (Ford Fiesta S2400) 54m27s2 Damian Cole / Elliott Edmondson (Ford Focus WRC) 54m44s3 Simon Mauger / Ashley Trimble (Ford Escort MkII) 55m26s

Provisional championship standings1 John Stone – 131 points2 Damian Cole 1163 Alex Laffey – 944 David Tinn – 915 Darren Atkinson – 89