Pirelli MSA Welsh Rally Championship

Round 7: Woodpecker Stages, 30 August

Luke Francis and John Roberts extended their championship lead with maximum points on the penultimate round, the Woodpecker Stages.

Alex Allingham with Chris Williams kept the pressure on Francis but their Group N Subaru was no match for the winner’s more powerful Mitsubishi Evo 1X. Allingham’s second place ensures the championship will now be decided on the final round in Llandudno.

Tom Naughton survived an incident on the second stage to take the final podium spot, while Matthew Robinson and Sam Collis finished an impressive fourth. Wug Utting secured enough points to retain second place in the championship before drop scores are applied.

Results1 Luke Francis /John H Roberts (Mitsubishi Evo IX) 0h42m32s 2 Alex Allingham / Chris Williams (Subaru Impreza N10) 0h43m35s 3 Tom Naughton / Andi Mort (Mitsubishi Evo IX) 0h43m51s

Provisional championship standings1 Luke Francis – 152 points2 Wug Utting – 1453 Alex Allingham – 137