ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship

Round 8: Colin McRae Stages Rally, 4 October

Euan Thorburn and co-driver Paul Beaton secured their first ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship title by winning a dramatic Colin McRae Stages Rally after rival David Bogie left the road on the last stage.

The result adds two new names to the championship trophy for the first time since 2009, following Bogie's dominance with navigator Kevin Rae.

Thorburn completed the six Perthshire stages two minutes ahead of runners-up Mike Faulkner and Peter Foy. Jock Armstrong, with Paula Swinscoe navigating, was third in his Subaru Impreza, a further 35 seconds back.

Results1 Euan Thorburn / Paul Beaton (Ford Focus WRC) 43m51s2 Mike Faulkner / Peter Foy (Mitsubishi EVO 9) 45m52s3 Jock Armstrong / Paula Swinscoe (Subaru Impreza) 46m29s

Provisional championship standings1 Euan Thorburn – 204 (CHAMPION)2 Mike Faulkner – 1723 Jock Armstrong – 1724 Dougal Brown – 1545 Barry Groundwater – 147

Related Motorsport Articles

82,682 articles