Jean Todt and John Surtees crown British Motorsport Champions

FIA President Jean Todt and Formula 1 legend John Surtees crowned the 2014 MSA British Champions during the Night of Champions ceremony in London on Saturday (24 January).

Alan Gow, Chairman of the Motor Sports Association (MSA), welcomed the winners of UK motor sport’s most prestigious titles to the Royal Automobile Club on Pall Mall for the annual awards evening. They were joined by a series of special award winners, each recognised for outstanding achievement throughout the past year.

Todt, who leads world motor sport’s governing body, took the opportunity to praise the breadth and depth of UK motor sport, while paying tribute to the MSA’s efforts to promote road safety messages in support of the FIA Action for Road Safety campaign.

Surtees, the only world champion on two wheels and four, entertained guests by recollecting the 50th anniversary celebrations of his 1964 F1 title.

Respected broadcaster Steve Rider returned as Master of Ceremonies and was joined by long-time colleague Louise Goodman.

Alan Gow, MSA Chairman, said: “The MSA Night of Champions is always a great occasion and a highlight of the domestic motor sport calendar. But the evening is not ours; it is our champions’ night and we were delighted to welcome them to the Royal Automobile Club to celebrate their achievements and successes. We were also honoured to have our FIA President, Jean Todt, with us throughout the evening and thank him for his contribution to such a special occasion.”

The Champions honoured on the night were:

MSA British Cadet Kart Championship: Teddy WilsonMSA British Short Circuit Kart Championship:Henry EasthopeMSA British Long Circuit Kart Championship:Paul PlattMSA British Autotest Championship: Richard PinkneyMSA British Car Trial Championship: Mark HoppeMSA British Sporting Trials Championship: John FackMSA British Drag Racing Championship: Andy RobinsonMSA British Sprint Championship: Colin CalderMSA British Hill Climb Championship: Scott MoranMSA British Rallycross Championship: Julian GodfreyMSA British Cross Country Championship: Mike Moran and Tony CoidMSA British Historic Rally Championship: David Stokes and Guy WeaverMSA British Junior Rally Championship: Gus GreensmithMSA British Manufacturers Rally Championship:Citroen UKMSA British Rally Championship: Daniel McKenna and Arthur KieransBritish GT Championship: Marco AttardBritish Formula 3 Championship: Hong Wei CaoMSA British Touring Car Championship Manufacturer:MGMSA British Touring Car Championship: Colin Turkington

There was also a series of special awards:

JLT MSA Club of the Year: Solway Car ClubJLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Overall:Richard AshtonJLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Marshal: Karen KearnsFIA Best Marshal: Lynne KenallRenault MSA Young Journalist of the Year: Scott MitchellRenault MSA Young Photographer of the Year:Adam PigottBWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy: Claire WilliamsRSF MSA Young Driver of the Year: Sam Bilham

Related Motorsport Articles

82,693 articles