Volkswagen Weekend Motorsport Review

FIA European Rallycross ChampionshipTommy Rustad wins to claim European Championship title

Tommy Rustad clinched the title in the FIA European Rallycross Championship with a win. Driving the Volkswagen Polo RX Supercar, run by Marklund Motorsport and HTB Racing, the Norwegian won the final round of the season at the Franciacorta International Circuit. Even a puncture in heat two could not stop him. “I was very focused to do my own job this weekend,” said Rustad. “I was so motivated. I got a puncture in the second heat, so that lost us some places on day one, but I qualified top at the Intermediate, won the semi-final and the final. Today was really perfect.” Rustad’s compatriot Ole Christian Veiby (N) also had cause for celebration. The Norwegian from Volkswagen Team Sweden finished third in Italy. Veiby also ended the season in third place overall with 86 points. Rustad, who won three of the five rounds in this season’s European Championship, finished with 135 points and a lead of 18 points over runner-up Jérôme Grosset-Janin (Peugeot, 117).

FIA World Rallycross ChampionshipSecond place for Volkswagen driver Kristoffersson in Italy

Johan Kristoffersson finished an excellent second at the twelfth and penultimate round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in Italy. The Swede from Volkswagen Team Sweden was only beaten by Andreas Bakkerud (N, Ford) at the Franciacorta International Circuit. Kristoffersson’s team-mate Tord Linnerud (N) reached the semi-final in the second Volkswagen Polo R WRX, but finished fifth and failed to qualify for the final. Luck deserted the two Marklund Motorsport drivers: Toomas “Topi” Heikkinen (FIN) and Per-Gunnar “P-G” Andersson (S) went out in the early stages in the Volkswagen Polo RX Supercar. Kristoffersson (228 points) remains third overall, 25 points behind second-placed Timmy Hansen (Peugeot, 253). Heikkinen (128) is eighth, Andersson (70) twelfth and Linnerud (49) 14th. The season finale will take place in Argentina from 27 to 29 November.

FIA Formula 3 European ChampionshipSuccessful climax to Formula 3 European Championship in Hockenheim

Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) enjoyed more success with Volkswagen Power on the final weekend of the season in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship: the Italian won race two in Hockenheim. His sixth win of the season in the most important junior series in Europe was enough for Giovinazzi (412.5 points) to secure second place behind Felix Rosenqvist (S, Dallara-Mercedes, 508) in the overall standings. At the start of the year, rookie Charles Leclerc (Van Amersfoort Racing) was the dominant man. The driver from Monaco had won four races by the halfway point of the season and led the overall standings by a clear 42.5 points. However, Leclerc lost ground from that point on, and the race for the championship was ultimately between Giovinazzi and Rosenqvist. There was some consolation for Leclerc: the newcomer claimed the rookie title with 533.5 points. Runner-up in this competition was George Russell (GB, Carlin), another young driver with the 225-hp engine from Wolfsburg in the rear of his car. Over the course of the entire season, the Volkswagen drivers claimed 12 wins, 46 podiums and 171 top-ten results. However, the season is not yet over for some of the youngsters: the famous Formula 3 Grand Prix will take place in Macau from 19 to 22 November.

Volkswagen Vento Cup IndiaTwo wins for Reddy Konda in Greater Noida

Two out of three – Anindith Reddy Konda (IND) tasted success twice on the third race weekend of the Volkswagen Vento Cup India. Reddy Konda won the opening race on Saturday and race three on Sunday at the Buddh International Circuit (IND). Reddy Konda led race one, which was suspended and then re-started after a crash, from start to finish. Ishaan Dodhiwala (IND) finished runner-up, ahead of Karminder Singh (IND) in third place. However, Karminder Singh’s big moment was to follow in race two: the Indian started the race from sixth on the grid, but had climbed into the lead by the end of the second lap and never looked back until he took the chequered flag. Dodhiwala was second again, while Prabhanj Paruchuri (IND) finished third to claim the first podium of his career. Race three saw a thrilling battle for the lead between Reddy Konda and Dodhiwala. Reddy Konda ultimately came out on top, crossing the finish line 0.263 seconds ahead of Dodhiwala. Sailesh Bolisetti (IND) came home third to complete the podium. The fourth and final race weekend will once again be held at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida from 27 to 29 November.

South African Rally ChampionshipVolkswagen duo Lategan/White finish second in Polokwane

Henk Lategan/Barry White (ZA/ZA) were the best-placed Volkswagen duo at the eighth and final round of the South African Rally Championship. The two South Africans from Volkswagen Sasolracing finished runner-up at the Polokwane Motor Rally (ZA). At the end of the nine special stages in the South African province of Limpopo, Lategan/White were only beaten by 2015 champions Mark Cronje/Gerhard Snyman (ZA/ZA, Ford). A damaged suspension prevented Gugulethu Zulu and Hilton Auffray (ZA/ZA) from completing the rally. As a result, the two South Africans missed out on third place overall and eventually had to settle for fourth (54 points). Lategan/White finished fifth overall with 43 points.

Volkswagen Fun Cup UKGraham Roberts and Farquini Deott dominate at Oulton Park

JPR - Uvio was unbeatable at the Oulton Park Circuit (GB). The pairing of Graham Roberts/Farquini Deott (GB/GB) won the final race of the season in the Volkswagen Fun Cup UK. After 108 laps of racing, the British duo crossed the finish line 45.903 seconds ahead of Track Torque /2 Rent Dominos with its drivers Chris Hart and Henry Dawes (GB/GB). Geometric, with Guy Wenham/Zoe Wenham/Stephen Johansen (GB/GB/GB) at the wheel, came home third – a little over a second behind the runners-up – to complete the podium. The Racelogic team, with drivers Julian Thomas and Jan Tomlinson (GB/GB), had already been crowned champions before the final race of the season, but had to settle for eleventh place at Oulton Park.

Volkswagen Fun Cup FranceA performance worthy of champions: Defi Performance wins the final race of the season in Nogaro

The Defi Performance team won the final race of the season in the Volkswagen Fun Cup France to claim the title. Pascal Amant/Julien Menart/Julien Suzanna were victorious at the eight-hour race in Nogaro (F), coming home ahead of SPI FC with its drivers Philippe Illiano/Ander Vilarino/John Cedric Favre. Third place went to the Eurodatacar FC trio of Philippe Loriquet/Gérald Richard/Didier Pigelet. At the start of the race on Sunday morning, the drivers were forced to contend with a wet track at the 3.636-kilometre Circuit de Nogaro. The track started to dry out again towards the middle of the race, and remained dry until the chequered flag fell for the final time in the 2015 season.

Next up:

22/10–25/10/2015FIA World Rally Championship, Spain

24/10–25/10/2015Touringcar Racer International Series, Buriram (T)

24/10/2015Engen Volkswagen Cup South Africa, Killarney Motor Racing Circuit (ZA)

23/10–24/10/2015Volkswagen Fun Cup Belgium, Mettet (B)