MSA Championships Update

MSA Championships Update

Pirelli MSA Welsh Rally Championship
Round 6: Nicky Grist Stages, 14 July

Matt Edwards and Darren Garrod won Saturday’s Nicky Grist Stages, to claim their third maximum points haul in the championship.

Tom Cave led the main field away from a busy Builth Wells town centre and led into lunch break by two seconds.

However Edwards and Garrod pulled ahead during the afternoon, setting fastest times on the last few stages. Luke Francis and John H Roberts took second place after Cave withdrew.

Martyn and Dawn England took an excellent third place finish in only their second championship outing in 2018.

1 Matt Edwards/Darren Garrod Ford Fiesta 42.09 seconds
2 Luke Francis/John H Roberts Fiesta WRC 43.07s
3 Martyn England/Dawn England Fiesta R5 44.08s

Provisional championship standings
1 Dylan Davies – 107 points
= Wug Utting – 107 
3 Matt Edwards – 96

Link Up Ltd MSA British Autotest Championship

Round 7: Nic Ayre Memorial Autotest (Alwoodley Motor Club), 8 July

Richard Pinkney won the Nic Ayre Memorial Autotest, on a hot sunny day at the Sherburn Proving Ground in Yorkshire.

Three tests were laid out on the perimeter roads, each to be attempted five times during the day. Malcolm Livingston took an immediate lead over Chris Chapman, with Dave Mosey and Pinkney only a further two seconds back.

By lunchtime Pinkney had an 18-second lead over Chapman. The sports car class saw Pinkney ease to a comfortable win by 35 seconds. The specials class remained in the lunchtime order, with Livingston easing to a 12-second win over Dave Mosey, with Dave Evans a further 17 seconds behind.

1 Richard Pinkney (Caterham Seven 1600) 653.8 seconds 
2 Malcolm Livingston (Lindsay Special 1600) 682.9
3 Steve Morten (RAW Striker 1800) 688.9

Provisional championship standings
1 Dave Evans – 177 points
2 Malcolm Livingston – 167

Image: Matt Edwards and Darren Garrod in action on the Nicky Grist Stages, courtesy of RallySportMedia

Related Motorsport Articles

82,700 articles