Speedway: Janowski wins in Cardiff

MACIEJ Janowski made history at Cardiff by becoming the first Polish rider to win in Britain during the Grand Prix era.
The ex-Poole Pirates ace bagged his second straight event victory to follow his triumph in Horsens, Denmark prior to the World Cup break.
His 17-point success, which featured no fewer than five race wins, saw him climb to within three points of new series leader Jason Doyle and level with countryman Patryk Dudek in joint second.
“Every win in the Grand Prix is special, you need to put in so much work and we all know how hard it is this year,” said Janowski.
“It was amazing, there were a lot of Polish fans supporting and wishing me the best. I don’t think a Polish rider has won in Cardiff before so that is also a very special moment for me.
“There is still a lot to do for the end of the season but I think everything is working pretty well for now and I will try to keep this up.
“I am trying not to look at the points but it is hard, we all know what we are playing for. I am trying to do my work as best I can, I am trying not to focus on the points because there are still six rounds until the end.”
The win was in stark contrast to the fortunes endured by home hero Tai Woffinden, whose nine-point total was not enough for a top-eight finish after countback.
Woffinden said: "It's frustrating to miss out on the semi-final but that's the joy of our sport, it is what it is. We'll just have to take a step back, re-evaluate how the meeting went and focus on moving forwards.
"Normally you can scrape into the semi-finals on seven points, so to miss out on nine is tough but that's life."
Wildcard and British champion Craig Cook found the going tough, bursting the tapes in his opener before registering two points despite some plucky performances.
The withdrawal of reigning champion Greg Hancock as well as two early tapes infringements gave track reserves Adam Ellis and Josh Bates three rides each.
Ellis failed to score but insisted his first experience of Cardiff had given him plenty to work towards.
“It was good,” said Ellis. “I felt on the pace but just missed out on the starts. I didn’t feel too comfortable on the bike but other than that, it was an awesome experience and great to be a part of.
“The whole day made me realise how much effort goes in from the top boys to sustain this level. It has definitely put fuel on the fire and made me want to better myself even more.”
Bates bagged his only two points in his opener, standing firm in a tight first bend before staying on the pace to file in behind Janowski, beating 2012 world champion Chris Holder and Martin Vaculik.
"I'm shocked," said Bates. "To be here has always been one of my life goals and just to get a ride was incredible, let alone three.
"Scoring two points in my opening ride was an amazing achievement for me, and being here this weekend has just made me realise where I need to be."

There was early disappointment as Hancock withdrew through injury having pulled up on lap one of the opening heat which was comfortably taken by Woffinden.
Tapes infringements blighted the next two races with Ellis and Bates afforded the opportunity to ride, the latter taking second after refusing to be hustled in the first turn before filing in behind Janowski.
Matej Zagar roared from third to first past Doyle and then Niels-Kristian Iversen in a thrilling fourth heat before taking his second chequered flag from the gate ahead of Woffinden in the next race.
Cook, excluded for bursting the tapes in his opener, got by Piotr Pawlicki after the Pole’s wobble on lap three of heat six for his first point of the night. Freddie Lindgren won having gated third.
Doyle lifted and fell while second in heat seven, earning an exclusion in an awarded race and Ellis found the going tough in an eighth won by Dudek’s blistering gate.
Woffinden bludgeoned his way past a bewildered Pawlicki on turn two to take second behind Emil Sayfutdinov in heat nine with Holder then claiming a first win from the gate.
Heat 11 was all action with Peter Kildemand roaring around the outside to edge to victory after being three abreast early on and exchanging positions throughout with Dudek and Vaculik.
Cook gated in heat 12 but got passed by Zmarzlik on lap one and the swift Zagar on lap three. Bates brought up the rear.
Woffinden finished third in his fourth outing having trailed Zmarzlik from the off before a slip allowed Holder to seize second.
Janowski grabbed a third win from four before Cook unfortunately had to shut off and finish last on lap four having battled manfully throughout heat 15.
Doyle grabbed back-to-back wins to snaffle his place in the top eight as one of five riders on nine points with Woffinden’s second consecutive third proving costly on count back.
Sayfutdinov produced the ride of the night by blasting from last to first around the outside in heat 18 with Holder’s second and Zagar’s third enough to see off Woffinden’s hopes. Iversen’s from-the-gate win in heat 20 was academic.
Doyle continued his charge with second in semi-final one behind Zmarzlik, getting past Dudek having been passed by the Polish pair early on.
Janowski was controversially hauled back for a flying start to the second semi-final but still won the second attempt comfortably with Zagar’s pace around the outside too much for Holder to resist.
And the ex-Poole man was not to be denied in the final with another unstoppable burst from gate two to take victory from the off.

Maciej Janowski 17 (1st), Jason Doyle 13 (2nd), Matej Zagar 12 (3rd), Bartosz Zmarzlik 16 (4th), Emil Sayfutdinov 11, Patryk Dudek 10, Peter Kildemand 10, Chris Holder 10, Tai Woffinden 9, Niels-Kristian Iversen 7, Fredrik Lindgren 7, Antonio Lindback 7, Martin Vaculik 4, Josh Bates (res) 2, Craig Cook 2, Piotr Pawlicki 1, Greg Hancock 0, Adam Ellis (res) 0.

STANDINGS after Round 6 of 12
Jason Doyle 78, Maciej Janowski 75, Patryk Dudek 75, Fredrik Lindgren 58, Emil Sayfutdinov 58, Tai Woffinden 57, Bartosz Zmarzlik 55, Martin Vaculik 49, Matej Zagar 48, Greg Hancock 45, Chris Holder 44, Piotr Pawlicki 44, Niels-Kristian Iversen 38, Antonio Lindback 36, Peter Kildemand 22.