SWISHER MSA English Rally Championship

Round 5: Woodpecker Stages, 1 September

Julian Wilkes and co-driver Will Rutherford sealed the 2012 SWISHER MSA English Rally Championship crown after taking their fifth maximum points haul of the season on the Woodpecker Rally.

There was a thrilling battle in Class E1, which 18-year-old Cameron Davies won by 22 seconds from Joe Evett. Meranwhile Allan McDowall emerged victorious from an event-long battle with Boyd Kershaw for Class E5 honours.

Neil Matthews again won class E3, while the Class E4 spoils fell to Matt Griffin.

Results class winnersE1 Cameron Davies / Alistair Dodd (MG ZR) 50m12s   E2 Julian Wilkes / Will Rutherford (Vauxhall Nova) 47m 01s E3 Neil Matthews / Ian Harden (Vauxhall Nova) 47m 45s E4 Matt Griffin / Chris Spilstead (VW Lupo) 51m 21sE5 Allan McDowall / Gavin Heseltine (Opel Kadett) 45m 46s

Provisional championship standings1 Julian Wilkes 125 points (CHAMPION)2 Mick Smith 1033 Neil Matthews 994 Allan McDowall 98           5 Cameron Davies 95