MSA English Rally Championship

Round 1: Team GMF Wyedean Forest Rally, 9 February

Reigning champions Julian Wilkes and co-driver Will Rutherford picked up where they left off in 2012 with a commanding victory on the Wyedean Rally in their Vauxhall Nova.

All the leading contenders for class wins emerged from the Forest of Dean victorious: Theo Bengry in a Ford Escort Mk2 won Class E5 along with the overall Historic section, while David Poyser peddled his Honda Civic over the Forestry Commission tracks to claim Class E4.

Meanwhile the Ford Escort of Sean Edwards won in Class E3 and James West in his VW Lupo took home the Class E1 honour. Class E2 was won by Wilkes.

ResultsClass E5 Theo Bengry / Les Forsbrook (Ford Escort Mk2) 51m 29sClass E4 David Poyser / John Orme (Honda Civic) 55m 57sClass E3 Sean Edwards / Gavin Haycock (Ford Escort) 55m 33sClass E2 Julian Wilkes / Will Rutherford (Vauxhall Nova) 51m 15sClass E1 James West / Steven Eggington (VW Lupo) 56m54s

Provisional championship standings1 James West25 points= Julian Wilkes25= Sean Edwards25= David Poyser25= Theo Bengry25