Carryduff Forklift MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship

Round 6: Ulster Rally, 23-24 August

Derek McGeehan won the Ulster Rally to cut Derek McGarrity’s championship lead to just two points.

McGeehan was quickest on the opening spectator stage ahead of Paddy McVeigh and Emma McKinstry, but by the end of the first loop of four stages Frank Kelly had moved into the lead.

Kelly maintained his lead through the second loop of stages, but after the third loop McGeehan had moved back ahead and established a comfortable lead, eventually securing victory with a winning margin of 24 seconds.

Results1 Derek McGeehan / Darragh Mullan (Mini WRC) 1h26m02.1s2 Frank Kelly / Russell Harold (Ford Escort Mk2) 1h26m26.1s3 Shane McGirr / Jackie Elliott (Toyota Starlet) 1h28m01.1s

Provisional championship standings1 Derek McGarrity – 48 points2 Derek McGeehan – 46 3 Jonny Leonard – 324 Kevin Barrett – 285 Kieron Graffin – 16