Charles Leclerc takes maiden Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS win in Monza

First win in Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS and first win ever in singleseater for Charles Leclerc.

Monza: The Monaco driver racing with Fortec Motorsports won Race 1 ahead of the Cram Motorsport duo Alessio Rovera and Stefan Riener (the latter polesitter), second and third.

The fifth round of the season crowned third winner of 2014 with Leclerc adding his name to those of Nyck de Vries (still current leader) and Matevos Isaakyan, who slips to  third overall one point behind Leclerc.

At the green light Riener kept the leadership chased by Isaakyan who was quicker than Leclerc. The driver from Monaco managed to strike back two laps later as Riener was  penalized with a 10” penalty for jump start.

Leclerc lec with Isaakyan second, behind them Rovera, Pietro Fittipaldi, Dario Capitanio and de Vries.

On lap 8 Isaakyan spun in Parabolica. In the meantime Ben Barnicoat and Martin Kodric passed Capitanio. Fittipaldi droppec back to seventh. With the chequered flag about to be waived Capitanio spun at Roggia after a minor crash with Luke Chudleigh. No mistakes from Leclerc who took the flag and stepped on podium with Rovera and Riener while de Vries managed fourth.

“My start was not perfect and I’ve lost a place. Than I’ve managed to recover it duelling with Isaakyan. When my team told me of the 10” penalty assigned to Riener, I just focused in keeping my pace. This is a very special day as this is my first win ever in singleseaters". – commented Leclerc.

Race 2 is set for today at 2.15 pm. The whole race will be live streamed on

Race 1 (top-10): 1. Charles Leclerc MON (Fortec Motorsports) 15 laps 27’56”899; 2. Alessio Rovera ITA (Cram Motorsport) 3”860; 3. Stefan Riener AUT (Cram Motorsport) 5”891; 4. Nick de Vries NED (Koiranen GP) 6”895; 5. Ben Barnicoat GBR (Fortec Motorsports) 12”436; 6. Luke Chudleigh CAN (Tech 1 Racing) 14”457; 7. Martin Codric KRO (Fortec Motorsports) 14”673; 8. Akash Nandy MAL (Tech 1 Racing) 16”837; 9. Matteo Gonfiantini ITA (TS Corse) 19”104; 10. Alex Bosak POL (Prema Powerteam) 19”400.

The Championship (top-5): 1. Nyck de Vries 192; 2. Charles Leclerc 105; 3. Matevos Isaakyan 104; 4. George Russell 77; 5. Simon Gachet 62.