Mawson wins first ADAC Formula 4 race at Zandvoort

Mawson wins first ADAC Formula 4 race at Zandvoort Lights-to-flag victory for Van Amersfoort driver in home fixtureMike David Ortmann and Mick Schumacher also on the podium

Races 2 and 3 live on SPORT1Joey Mawson (20, Van Amersfoort) has won the 19th race of the 2016 ADAC Formula 4 at Zandvoort. In what constitutes the first ever visit by the ADAC High-Speed Academy to the circuit in the dunes on the Dutch North Sea coast, the Australian cruised to an easy start-finish victory from pole position. "That was a perfect race for Van Amersfoort and for me," said Mawson after receiving his winner's trophy. "I got off to a great start, quickly opened up a gap and then controlled the race." Mike David Ortmann (16, Germany, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.) finished second ahead of Mick Schumacher (17, Germany, Prema Powerteam). ADAC Sports Foundation protégé Ortmann, who had already been impressive in the Friday sessions at Zandvoort, was extremely satisfied: "Towards the end, we were matching Mawson for speed. I'm overjoyed." Places four to seven went to a quartet of rookies: Lirim Zendeli (16, Germany, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.), Juri Vips (16, Estonia, Prema Powerteam), Juan Manuel Correa (17, USA/Ecuador, Prema Powerteam) and Jonathan Aberdein (18, South Africa, Motopark). Mawson's team-mate Kami Laliberté (16, Canada) took the chequered flag in eighth position in this home fixture for the Van Amersfoort outfit. Schumacher uses restart to good effect The safety car was deployed in the 13th minute when ADAC Sports Foundation protégée Sophia Flörsch (15, Germany, Motopark) spun off track. Schumacher seized the initiative on the restart to overtake Zendeli and secure the third podium spot. "As a rookie, I sometimes still lack the necessary experience," said Zendeli. "I had been third for the whole of the race up to then. The speed was definitely there." Mawson, who had pulled out a gap of three and a half seconds before the safety car incident, refused to be knocked off his stride by the interruption and kept the rest of the field at a safe distance after the restart. Mawson has now extended his championship lead over second-placed Schumacher to 56 points. Janneau Esmeijer (19, Netherlands, Team Timo Scheider) lost six places during the race and finished tenth. The local favourite will be on pole position for the third race on Sunday (to be shown live on SPORT1 at 10:15) thanks to the way the grid positions are allocated, with the Top Ten from Race 1 starting in reverse order. Lining up behind Esmeijer will be rookie Felipe Drugovich (16, Brazil, Neuhauser Racing) and Kami Laliberté. Ortmann and Zendeli on front row in second race In the second race on Saturday (17:45 live on SPORT1), Mike David Ortmann will start from pole position. He will be followed by team-mate Zendeli, Esmeijer and Drugovich. Laliberté and Mick Schumacher have booked themselves slots on the third row. Title favourite Mawson faces the challenge of working his way forward from twelfth on the grid on this demanding track. Further comments on the ADAC Formula 4 race: Joey Mawson (winner, Van Amersfoort Racing): "In the remaining races, I don't want to place myself under any great pressure. We have the pace, and it's not impossible to overtake on this track. We aim to finish in the Top Ten and score more points." Mike David Ortmann (second, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.): "I am very happy with the way the race went. We've scored some decent points and extended the gap to fourth in the standings." Lirim Zendeli (Best Rookie, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.): "I ought to be quite happy with the race, especially in view of recent ones. I'm starting the second race from second place, so if I can defend that position at the start, it would be a great result."