MSA British Drag Racing Championship

Round 5: Santa Pod Raceway, 21-22 September

Bruno Bader defeated Andy Robinson at Santa Pod to secure the MSA British Drag Racing Championship crown.

While Bader qualified on pole, Robinson set the event’s Low Elapsed Time and Top Speed (6.177sec, 237.66mph) in the opening round.

No fewer than five drivers has started the race with clear shots at the title; Rick Garrett and Wayne Nicholson were eliminated by engine problems, while a crash during Saturday’s qualifying removed Graham Ellis from contention.

Results – Semi-finalBruno Bader 6.246sec, 216.98mph def. Kevin Slyfield 7.055, 155.75Andy Robinson 6.880, 222.54 def. Roger Moore 6.569, 209.94

FinalBruno Bader 6.209, 225.60 def. Andy Robinson 10.374, 92.75

Low Elapsed Time of the Event: 6.177sec. – Andy RobinsonTop Speed of the Event: 237.66mph – Andy Robinson

Final Championship standings1 Bruno Bader – 3532 Andy Robinson – 3313 Rick Garrett – 3044 Wayne Nicholson – 2725 Kevin Slyfield – 260