West Wales Rally Spares R.A.C. Championship heads north for DMACK Carlisle Stages

The championship, organised by the Roger Albert Clark Rally Motor Club, runs in parallel to the Mintex MSA British Historic Rally Championship and is aimed at clubmen historic crews as well as those running in the Open Category. With containing costs for clubmen as a prime aim, the championship runs to a six-tyre rule on all events.For the DMACK Carlisle Stages, the West Wales Rally Spares R.A.C. Rally Championship runs alongside the REIS/Ravenol BTRDA Rally Series and the MSA English Rally Championship as well as several regional championships and a superb 130-car entry will contest the event. Stages in the Kershope and Newcastleton area will offer a fine day’s sport.Once more leading the R.A.C. contenders from the championship’s Open Category are Phil Burton and Mal Capstick in their Ford Escort Mk2 and they will surely set a fierce pace at the head of the pack. Chief Open rivals to the flying Burton will be Barry Stevenson-Wheeler and John Pickavance in their Ford Escort Mk2.James Potter and Bob Duck head the historic R.A.C. contenders in their Escort Mk2 but face strong opposition including fellow south-eastern crew Leigh and Chris Armstrong in their Escort Mk2. After a successful debut on the recent Severn Valley Stages, Gary Cooper and Jon Riley are back out in their Sunbeam Lotus in Category 3 and should go well against the Escorts.Adding variety and quality to the historic field will be Tim Mason/Graham Wild (Porsche 911) and Jeremy Easson/Mike Reynolds (Datsun 240Z), with Mason coming back after an accident in Kielder in April. More Category 2 historic cars chasing R.A.C. points include the Escort Mk1s of Aziz Tejpar/Alistair Crook and Bob Bean/Malcolm Smithson. Among the 1600cc Category 3 cars are Grahame Standen/Jane Edgington (Ford Escort Mk2) and Standen will be keen to score another strong result after an early retirement on his last visit to Kielder. In the 1600cc class of Category 2 are the Ford Escorts of Malcolm Bayliss/Siobhan Pugh and Stuart Cariss/Linda Cariss. Meanwhile, making a welcome return to rallying in their 1600cc Escort Mk1 will be Tony Ginns and Ben Giles.The rally will be based at the premises of RJ Murray at Longtown near Carlisle. The first car will start at 8am and return to the finish at around 3pm. The DMACK Carlisle Stages is organised by the Roger Albert Clark Rally Motor Club.