GP2 - Gasly lights up Abu Dhabi qualifying

Frenchman soars to final 2015 polePierre Gasly repeated his storming free practice performance by dominating this evening’s qualifying session in Abu Dhabi, denying 2015 champion Stoffel Vandoorne a final pole position for the season as the pair topped the timesheets ahead of Mitch Evans.The Red Bull test driver annexed the top spot with a lap of 1:47.769, although Vandoorne closed to within a tenth in a frenetic session which saw the top four drivers bring home times under the McLaren tester’s 2014 pole as the weekend hangs onto the cooler than usual temperatures.The session started with the usual jockeying for position when the lights went green, but Gasly ignored them all and set the pace right from the start: Vandoorne, Evans and Alexander Rossi all briefly put themselves on top but the Frenchman broke their hearts with a 48.0 lap at the seven minute mark, to take the lead back to the pits, and then went faster again when he returned to the track to drive the point home.His rivals were still determined to put up a challenge: teammate Alex Lynn jumped Vandoorne for P2 on his first flyer on his second set, but the Belgian stole it back a minute later to at least start from the front row. The pair (and Gasly) returned to the pits with a minute remaining: Rossi tried to push forward but made a small mistake in sector 1 to put paid to his efforts, while Evans’ last ditch attempt paid off with P3 for tomorrow.Lynn leads the rest of the field, ahead of Raffaele Marciello, Rio Haryanto (who will be delighted to outqualify his rival Sergey Sirotkin for third in championship), Rossi, Jordan King, Nobuharu Matsushita and Artem Markelov, who all qualified within a second of pole and will be looking for more rewards in tomorrow’s feature race.Yas Marina – Qualifying session Driver Team Laptime Laps1. Pierre Gasly DAMS 1:47.769 102. Stoffel Vandoorne ART Grand Prix 1:47.866 93. Mitch Evans RUSSIAN TIME 1:48.014 114. Alex Lynn DAMS 1:48.049 105. Raffaele Marciello Trident 1:48.419 116. Rio Haryanto Campos Racing 1:48.429 117. Alexander Rossi Racing Engineering 1:48.598 128. Jordan King Racing Engineering 1:48.632 119. Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1:48.699 1010. Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME 1:48.743 1111. André Negrao Arden International 1:48.822 1112. Sergey Sirotkin Rapax 1:48.981 1113. Norman Nato Arden International 1:49.105 1114. Arthur Pic Campos Racing 1:49.110 1115. Sergio Canamasas Daiko Team Lazarus 1:49.146 1116. Dean Stoneman Carlin 1:49.166 1117. Nicholas Latifi MP Motorsport 1:49.350 1118. Oliver Rowland Status Grand Prix 1:49.374 1119 Rene Binder MP Motorsport 1:49.661 1220. Daniiel De Jong Trident 1:49.727 1221. Nathanaël Berthon Daiko Team Lazarus 1:49.779 1122. Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 1:49.839 1123. Gustav Malja Rapax 1:50.543 1124. Sean Gelael Carlin 1:51.604 11