FIA Formula 3 World Cup returns to Macau

FIA Formula 3 World Cup returns to Macau

The majority of the 27 drivers set to contest the FIA Formula 3 World Cup – and write their names in Macau Grand Prix history – have been revealed. Three wins are shared among the exciting FIA Formula 3 World Cup entry list as Richard Verschoor is back to defend the title won in 2019, while Dan Ticktum is set to go for a hat-trick

Representing 20 countries and possessing talent and potential in abundance, the drivers will aim to follow in the wheel tracks of a host of motor sport greats who used the legendary street race as a platform to progress up the ranks.

They include Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher, David Coulthard, Takuma Sato, Felix Rosenqvist and António Félix da Costa. Meanwhile, Liam Lawson, Logan Sargeant and Yuki Tsunoda, who have all raced in the FIA Formula One World Championship this season, took part in the last FIA Formula 3 World Cup to be held in 2019.

Nine teams have entered the 2023 FIA Formula 3 World Cup, which co-headlines the 70th Macau Grand Prix event along with the FIA GT World Cup. They will each field three drivers in identical Mecachrome-powered Dallara cars equipped with tyres from official supplier Pirelli.

The star-studded list of drivers includes Richard Verschoor, the winner of the 2019 FIA Formula 3 World Cup, and Dan Ticktum, who triumphed in Macau in 2017 and 2018.

Paul Aron, third in the 2023 FIA Formula 3 Championship standings, and Gabriele Mini, who showed his street-racing prowess by winning the FIA Formula 3 Championship Monaco Feature Race earlier this season, are also entered.

Other standout names include Red Bull Junior Team drivers Zane Maloney, an FIA Formula 2 podium finisher this season, and Iasck Hadjar, who won the FIA Formula 2 Sprint Race at Circuit Zandvoort in August.

Of the drivers confirmed so far, only Ticktum, Verschoor and Sophia Floersch have raced in the FIA Formula 3 World Cup at Macau, which points to a wide-open battle for victory when the event takes place from November 16-19.

Trident Motorsport, which guided Gabriele Bortoleto to the FIA Formula 3 title this season, can count on Czech Roman Staněk, who, like Dutch team-mate Richard Verschoor, steps back from FIA Formula 2 for what will be his first Macau appearance. American Ugo Ugochukwu, a McLaren Driver Development programme member and a former European karting champion, will also fly the Trident flag.

Jenzer Motorsport hands FIA Formula 3 World Cup debuts to New York-born ex-sim racer Maxwell Esterson, Austrian teenager Charlie Wurz, son of ex-Formula One driver Alex, and Peruvian Matias Zagazeta, a regular in FIA Formula Regional events.

Estonian Paul Aron, Swede Dino Beganovic and Italian Gabriele Mini form Prema Racing’s challenge, with the three-time FIA Formula 3 World Cup-winning team bringing the famous Theodore name back to the event under the SJM Theodore Prema Racing banner.

Hitech Pulse-Eight can count on its FIA Formula 3 Championship driver Luke Browning and its French FIA Formula 2 racer Isack Hadjar for Macau success. The team’s third driver will be revealed in due course.

Having placed fifth in the 2023 FIA Formula 3 Championship standings, Spain’s Josep María Martí continues his alliance with Campos Racing. Sebastien Montoya, whose father Juan Pablo raced at Macau on his path to the FIA Formula One World Championship, joins Campos for his first Macau start, along with Danish driver Oliver Goethe, eighth in this year’s FIA Formula 3 standings.

Mexican Noel León, the Euroformula Open champion of 2023, will make his FIA Formula 3 World Cup debut with Van Amersfoort Racing, which also features Germany’s Sophia Floersch and Australian Tommy Smith in its ranks.

ART Grand Prix’s Macau challenge features Grégoire Saucy, Switzerland’s FIA Formula Regional European Championship winner from 2021, and Australian Christian Mansell, who brings experience from a season in FIA Formula 3 to Macau. Bulgarian 16-year-old Nikola Tsolov completes the ART line-up.

Rodin Carlin, which claimed its first of three FIA Formula 3 World Cup victories with Takuma Sato in 2001, has entered Barbadian Zane Moloney, plus double Macau winner Dan Ticktum from Great Britain. The team’s third driver is to be announced.

MP Motorsport, which is bidding for a second FIA Formula 3 World Cup victory in succession, has so far entered its Argentine FIA Formula 3 Championship star Franco Colapinto, who finished fourth in the final table in 2023, plus Mari Boya. The Spaniard raced for the Dutch squad in FIA Formula 3 this season, while an additional driver will be added to the MP Motorsport line-up.

The FIA Formula 3 World Cup is returning to Macau after a break of four years through the joint efforts of the FIA, Macau’s FIA member club, Automobile General Association Macao-China (AAMC), and the Macau Grand Prix Organising Committee.

Using the iconic 6.120-kilometre Guia Circuit, the event features two Free Practice sessions, two Qualifying sessions, a 10-lap Qualification Race, plus the 15-lap finale, which awards the prestigious FIA Formula 3 World Cup title.

Related Motorsport Articles

84,545 articles