Closely fought first day in the Subida Internacional Ubrique-Benaocaz Hillclimb

Andrés Vilarino, behind the wheel of his Norma 2000, claimed his first win of the weekend in the FIA International Hill Climb Cup and Categoría I of the Spanish Hill Climb championship. Javi Villa, José Antonio Aznar and Jonathan Álvarez were other winners.

Yesterday was characterized by soaring summer temperatures and large number of people attending the very first race climb of the 19th edition of the Subida Internacional Ubrique-Benaocaz. Each and every classification was hard fought throughout the whole day and the equality was predominant.

After dominating both official training sessions taking place shortly after noon, Andrés Vilarino approached race one as clear favourite and the multiple Spanish and European champion did not let anybody down. Clocking a time of 2:15.950, Vilarino won the FIA International Hill Climb Cup classification beating his daughter Ángela Vilarino, second with her beautiful Norma. It is worth mentioning that Vilarino was first in the Categoría I of the Spanish championship.

Javi Villa, always brilliant, driving his BRC B49 achieved another win in Categoría II ahead of José Antonio López Fombona, who was almost five seconds slower with his Audi A4 DTM, one of the most admired racing cars by the large crowds. Jonathan Álvarez, with another Bango Racing Car, a BRC05 Evo, finished third and won the Andalusian class.

With regard to Categoría III José Antonio Aznar, as effective as always with his Porsche 997 GT3 Cup, was the quickest in race one but just going slightly faster – four tenths- than Raúl Borreguero and the Mosler MT 900 R. Sergi Panella, on his debut in Ubrique, ranked third with his Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX and performed extremely well as he also won among Group N contenders ahead of José Blanco with another Mitsubishi. In Group A Aldo de Alberto (SEAT Córdoba WRC) finished on top and Alberto García (Renault Clio Sport) and Julián Bornás (FIAT Punto 1600) were second and third.

Today sees more action as two new races are scheduled at 11.30 and 13.30 respectively.