Ramsden Racing Wins the UK Super 2 Sidecar Masters The Ian Bell Trophy

Last weekend’s "Steve Henshaw International Gold Cup Road Races" saw rounds 15, 16 and 17 take place of the UK Super 2 Sidecar Masters Series – The Ian Bell Trophy, the last time Oliver’s Mount will host this series in the 2016 Season.

After a successful round at Cadwell Park, Steve and Matty Ramsden had a 53-point lead over second place Lee Crawford and Sam Christie, and a 58-point lead over third place man Dave Wallis. A win in race one and Lee Crawford’s Team ARC machine finishing 6th or less on the Saturday could have secured the Championship. This wasn’t made any easier with World Champions and Southern 100 Winners Tim Reeves and Patrick Farrance in attendance.

Race 1, round 15, saw the number 77 outfit of Reeves and Farrance take the victory with the Ramsdens coming home in second. Dave Wallis and Tony Belsey finished third with Championship contenders Lee Crawford and Sam Christie back in fifth Place. Despite a solid result, Ramsden Racing would have to wait until the Sunday races to finally take the prize they have been chasing all season.

Race 2 of the weekend, round 16, saw the number 99 outfit of Ramsden Racing finally secure the Ian Bell Trophy after coming home second to Reeves and Farrance. Despite Crawford & Christie's best efforts in finishing third there was now no way that the team from Hebden Bridge could be caught.

Steve and Matty Ramsden have taken part in every round of the Championship so far this year having only one DNF, Race three of the Cock O’ the North, Oliver’s Mount, Scarborough. They have currently taken five race wins in the series - four at Oliver’s Mount & one at Cadwell Park. They have also had success at the Isle of Man TT and Southern 100 rounds.

The confirmation of Steve and Matty Ramsden of Ramsden Racing winning the UK Super 2 Sidecar Masters Series – Ian Bell Trophy was verified by the UK Super 2 Sidecar Masters Championship Coordinator Charlie Houlden-Banks on Monday 26th September 2016.

The Ian Bell Trophy will be presented at the Auto 66 Awards night on Saturday 14th January.