Buemi, Hartley & Hirakawa secure WEC Hypercar title @ 8 Hrs of Bahrain

Buemi, Hartley & Hirakawa secure WEC Hypercar title @ 8 Hrs of Bahrain

with to a second-place finish

Kamui Kobayashi, Mike Conway and José-María Lopez win the 8 Hours of Bahrain

The trio takes their second win of the season following a faultless display to lead home the sister car of Buemi, Hartley and Hirakawa who become the 2022 FIA WEC Hypercar champions
The title-contending Alpine ELF Team of Nicolas Lapierre, Matthieu Vaxiviere and Andre Negrao (who arrived to Bahrain level on points with #8 Toyota crew) rounds out the podium
Peugeot TotalEnergies endure a tough race as the #94 Peugeot 9X8 crosses the line a delayed fourth, while #93 car retires with a transmission problem

The class sees dramatic closing stages as long-time race leaders James Calado and Alessandro Pier Guidi fall back from second place with a suspected gearbox issue in the penultimate hour
This threatened to open-up a sensational title tilt for Porsche GT Team which looked to be out of contention as the race wore on
However, Calado and Pier Guidi nurse the #51 AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE Evo to the chequered flag in fifth place to successfully defend their LMGTE Pro championship

The LMGTE Pro class is won at Bahrain by Miguel Molina and Antonio Fuoco who were allowed through by Calado in the fifth hour
Corvette Racing’s Tommy Milner and Nick Tandy place second after a spirited run, capitalising on some full-course yellow fortune early in the race
The #91 Porsche 911 RSR-19 of Richard Lietz and Gianmaria Bruni looked set for third place but it relinquishes position to teammates Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen in #92 Porsche 911 RSR-19 after taking a late fuel splash on the final tour


WRT takes second successive FIA WEC win as Robin Frijns/Rene Rast and Sean Gelael take conclusive victory
Title glory goes to Will Stevens/Antonio Felix da Costa/Roberto Gonzalez as they bag a third place in Bahrain
United Autosports USA place second as the #23 car of Oliver Jarvis, Alex Lynn and Joshua Pierson heads Prema Orlen Team that places fourth after a late fuel splash stop
The Pro/Am winners – Francois Perrodo, Nicklas Nielsen and Alessio Rovera – also seal the overall end-of-season victory


The #46 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Matteo Cairoli, Nicolas Leutwiler and Mikkel Pedersen takes the first win of the season in LMGTE Am
The #56 Porsche of Ben Barnicoat, Gunnar Jeannette and WEC debutant PJ Hyett makes it a 1-2 for Team Project 1
Iron Dames take third place after another stellar event (and a the squad’s third consultee podium finish) for Rahel Frey, Michelle Gatting and Sarah Bovy
The all-female squad moves up to third in the final FIA Endurance Trophy for LMGTE Am Teams standings
TF Sport celebrates the LMGTE Am title with a solid run to the fourth position for Ben Keating, Henrique Chaves and Marco Sorensen

Related Motorsport Articles

84,627 articles