Davison and Webb win Bathurst 1000 thriller at Mount Panorama

Will Davison and Jonathan Webb won the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 as Davison held off Shane Van Gisbergen to win 0.1434 seconds in one of the closest ever finishes.

The race ran without a safety car for 92 laps – but the second half exploded, with huge smashes, passes and penalties handed down in the final stages of the race.

Jamie Whincup and Garth Tander looked set to battle to the end, but an incident with Scott McLaughlin ended it for all three, with Tander in the wall, McLaughlin in the sand and Whincup handed a 15-second penalty for his part.

Davison was told to conserve fuel in the closing laps with van Gisbergen pushing, his STIX Darrell Lea Commodore coughed at the final corner.

“I’m honestly speechless, I’m not going to give much here because that was so stressful,” Davison said after clinching his second title. It coughed at the last corner I ran out of fuel as I crossed the line. Started 17th, I knew we were quick. Jonathon Webb had a good feeling this week.”

Webb won his second race at Mount Panorama this year, having taken the 12 Hour with Shane van Gisbergen and Alvaro Parente earlier in 2016.

Behind van Gisbergen, paired with Alex Premat, was Nick Percat in third taking small team Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport to its second ever podium with Cameron McConville

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Results - Top 10

1 Will Davison/Jonathon Webb/Team Darrell Lea STIX/Holden Commodore VF2 Shane van Gisbergen/Alexandre Prémat/Red Bull Racing Australia/Holden Commodore VF3 Nick Percat/Cameron McConville/Clipsal 500 Adelaide Racing/Holden Commodore VF4 Cameron Waters/Jack Le Brocq/Monster Energy Racing/Ford Falcon FG/X5 Scott Pye/Tony D'Alberto/DJR Team Penske/Ford Falcon FG/X6 Fabian Coulthard/Luke Youlden/DJR Team Penske/Ford Falcon FG/X7 Tim Slade/Ash Walsh/Freightliner Racing/Holden Commodore VF8 Michael Caruso/Dean Fiore/Nissan Motorsport/Nissan Altima9 Dale Wood/David Russell/GB Galvanizing Racing/Nissan Altima10 Tim Blanchard/Macauley Jones/Team Cooldrive/Holden Commodore VF