Rory Butcher claims Silverstone BTCC Race 1 victory

Rory Butcher claims Silverstone BTCC Race 1 victory

Toyota Gazoo Racing UK’s Rory Butcher claimed victory in the opening Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship race at Silverstone, after getting the better of fellow front-row starter Tom Ingram.

The Ginsters-backed Hyundai of Ingram blasted into the lead off the line as Butcher had to contend with a slippery side of the track, after fluid was dropped by a car from one of the previous support races.

Butcher remained composed and lunged past Ingram’s #80 machine at Brooklands on lap three and he eventually pulled away to take a comfortable victory.

Ingram held on to second until the finish, albeit coming under race-long pressure from the Vauxhall Astra of Daniel Lloyd.

Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing’s Lloyd performed brilliantly, as he has done all weekend, to take his first podium since 2018.

Aiden Moffat – fresh from his recent victory at Croft – narrowly missed out on more silverware as he pressured home both Ingram and Lloyd to take fourth.

The next trio ran line astern as BTC Racing’s Josh Cook, Team BMW’s Colin Turkington and Laser Tools Racing’s Ash Sutton took fifth, sixth and seventh respectively, the latter having made a nice mid-race pass on the Team Dynamics-run Honda of Daniel Rowbottom on the approach to Copse.

Team BMW’s Stephen Jelley and Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing’s Jason Plato completed the top ten results, as the third manufacturer-backed BMW of Tom Oliphant looked on.

2021 Kwik Fit British Touring Car Championship – Race 1 – Silverstone

1            Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK 22 laps
2            Tom INGRAM (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +3.262s
3            Daniel LLOYD (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +3.666s
4            Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +4.263s
5            Josh COOK (GBR) BTC Racing +6.674s
6            Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +6.929s
7            Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +7.379s
8            Daniel ROWBOTTOM (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +8.113s
9            Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team BMW +10.154s
10          Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing +10.564s
11          Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Team BMW +10.757s
12          Ollie JACKSON (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +16.981s
13          Chris SMILEY (GBR) Ginsters EXCELR8 with +17.270s
14          Senna PROCTOR (GBR) BTC Racing +17.621s
15          Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +18.009s
16          Sam OSBORNE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +18.763s
17          Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) Team HARD. with HUB Financial Solutions +19.410s
18          Jack BUTEL (GBR) EXCELR8 with +19.886s
19          Jack GOFF (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +23.460s
20          Tom CHILTON (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +23.822s
21          Jake HILL (GBR) MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square +24.904s
22          Jade EDWARDS (GBR) PHSC with BTC Racing +25.239s
23          Rick PARFITT (GBR) EXCELR8 with +26.015s
24          Nicolas HAMILTON (GBR) ROKiT Racing with iQuoto Online Trading +28.099s
25          Andy NEATE (GBR) Racing with Wera & Photon Group +20 laps
26          Adam MORGAN (GBR) Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport +21 laps
27          Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Racing with Cataclean +22 laps
28          Sam SMELT (GBR) Toyota Gazoo Racing UK +22 laps
29          Jack MITCHELL (GBR) Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct +22 laps

Related Motorsport Articles

84,563 articles